Green Monsters are back!

I was so happy to discover last week that my beloved Magic Bullet is somehow magically working again. A month or so ago it stopped working and I almost threw it away. For some reason I kept it and for some odder reason I pulled it out this week to give it one last chance. I stuck the cup on, twisted and it worked. I am thrilled. I have really been missing my green drinks in the morning. I have a big Kitchen Aid mixer, but it is too big, makes a mess and puts too much air in the drink. The Magic Bullet is the perfect little blender. I never want to live without it!

Despite my wonderful, nutrient filled shake this morning I stayed tired all day. I could have napped all day and was starving all day. I had my normal amount of food along with me but I could have eaten 10 times more food.  I got home made made a delicious meal that was TOO good..I probably had too much but I couldn’t help it. It was the first time all day I didn’t feel hollow. Too bad I didn’t take a picture – it was divine. I didn’t really follow a recipe – here is what I threw together

Laura’s Roasted Butternut Squash with Pasta
1 butternut squash, peeled and cut into cubes
olive oil
5 slices pancetta
half of a red onion, sliced
three garlic cloves, minced
8 oz pasta
3 oz. goat cheese

Preheat oven to 450. Spread the squash cubes on a baking pan and drizzle olive oil on them. Toss to coat. Put in the oven for about 15 minutes, stir the cubes around and return to the oven for another 15 minutes or until soft.

In the mean time chop up the pancetta and brown it in a large saute pan like you would bacon. Once it is crisy remove and add a bit of olive oil, onions and garlic to the pan. Saute over medium heat until they are carmelized.

Cook pasta according to directions on box. I had left over rigatoni so I used it. Once the pasta is cooked add it to the onions when they are done, toss in the pancetta and the squash when it is done.

For the grand finale crumble in the goat cheese and stir it with all the other stuff until creamy. YUMMY

We had this with a spinach salad. It was delicious!

After dinner I cleaned up and then did my stretches. I really thing that the stretching I have been doing religiously has been helping me from getting sore. I completely expected to be sore this morning after two long runs. I was not one bit sore. Last night I did all my leg stretches and this morning I did my back and torso. Tonight I did legs and feet.

Now I am going to watch my recording of Food Network’s The Next Iron Chef. I hope it is good!

2 Comments

  1. flexitarimari

    Hi Laura! I just found your site and wanted to tell you the same thing happened with my Magic Bullet!! I’m wondering if it just got overheated or something. I couldn’t live without that thing though. I’m glad yours is up and running again!

    Jamie

  2. lauraph2009

    Hi – Thanks for stopping by. I just checked out your blog – very impressive! Three marathons – wow. I am shooting for my first in February… I am currently eating “flextarian”, too!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

