High Expectations

I went for a run tonight and it was a bit of a let down. I was looking forward to it all day.  I planned to run 4-5 miles at an easy pace while listening to my music. I envisioned myself gliding over the path effortlessly with the wind in my hair….

Well, fast forward to 7:00PM – I get there and gear up and crank the tunes. The first quarter mile didn’t feel that smooth but certainly I will find my pace. A half mile, three quarters of a mile… finally the alert goes off and one mile has passed. That’s all? I am a watch-looker tonight. Things are not effortless like I had expected. Things are uncomfortable. I have a pain in my neck, my left hip is throbbing, the neuroma in my left foot is shooting pain.

On top of the physical pains I am also struggling with comfort. It is hot and sticky. My shorts feel two sizes too small and my tee shirt is clinging to my body. I can feel the cord for my head phones against my skin and it is annoying me. As I run I can feel my thighs rubbing together and I can’t stand it. I cannot get these things off my mind. I changed my music to something else to try to change my attitude but that didn’t work. I got slower and slower as my legs turned to lead.

I made it to 3 miles and I called it a day. There was nothing enjoyable about that run at all. I thought I was done with all of this nonsense – the last few runs have been great so this was a disappointment. WHY do I have to think of it that way. I should be happy I can get out and do things like this. I shouldn’t worry so much but I can’t seem to stop.

Good thing there are people in this world that say cleaver things and get them posted on the internet. I am not sure who Ralph Marston is but he said this:

“Don’t lower your expectations to meet your performance. Raise your level of performance to meet your expectations. Expect the best of yourself, and then do what is necessary to make it a reality.”

I have to do better and stop letting myself stop when I feel pain and discomfort – I need to learn to push through it!

2 Comments

  1. Linda

    I know what you mean -sometimes if my hip is hurting I don’t stop I just switch to the stationary bike – that takes some of the pressure off.

  2. weightosuccess

    It’s all good girlie… I think you’re still awesome!!! I love this quote.. I might have to use it ;-)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

