Jillian Michaels – Destination ME 2009!

This is the challenge that excites me the most. I did her “Face Your Fears” challenge in the fall and got a lot out of it. I was hoping another challenge would start and it has. Today I officially entered the challenge. For this challenge we had to map out goals for the whole year and then break them down for the next three months. The goals had to be life goals, fitness goals and nutrition goals.  Here is the essay I submitted:

It is amazing to think that the whole year is laid out in front of me and I can do whatever I want with it. What an empowering feeling. I am not sure that I have ever felt that way before. The last few months have taught me a lot about myself as I learned how to face my fears and face the weight problems that I have had my whole life. I started of 2009 with my 40th birthday. With this birthday I feel like I have turned the corner from a life of self doubt and fear. I am done with that person. I am ready to start anew and be the person I always wanted to be.
Who is that person? What is my goal for my life? I think that will be constantly changing. What is my life goal for this year? For this year I want to DO SOMETHING! My whole adult life has been my “thinking” about doing something and “planning” on doing something but not actaully taking the step to do something. I have thought about joining running clubs, doing adventure races, taking kayaking lessons, finding a hobby, etc. I have thought about these things, researched what it would take to do these things, bought books, read articles, so on and so on. This year I am going to actually do something. I am going to join a running club and participate in the club runs and activities. I am going to take swimming lessons. I am going to finish up the year by running a half marathon – the Thunder Road half marathon in Charlotte, NC.
To help me get to my yearly life goal of doing something I will have to have my nutrition and fitness in order. For my fitness I will get in shape by running at least 6 5K races by November. I will supplement this training with strength or circuit training at least 5 days a week. For nutrition my goal is to stay within my calorie range for at least 6 days a week. I will allow myself one high calorie day a week, if needed. My weightloss goal for the year is at least 60 pounds.
Now I have to break this down into the next three months. To help me achieve my year goal of doing something I will take the first step that is needed and join a running club. I have two nearby to choose from and will decide which is better for me. I will sign-up by 1/10/09. Also, to document my progress I am going to start a blog. This is another thing I have wanted to do for the past year and have never done. I started it this week and it is called “myhealthychallenge.wordpress.com”. I will document all the challenges that I set for myself – both formal challenges like the Destination ME 2009 challenge and personal challenges that I set.
My three month fitness goal is to run a 5K race in January, February and March. I will follow a 5K training program as well as do strenght and circuit fitness DVD’s each day. I will supplement my fitness with the nutrition goal of not only following my calorie intake but focusing each day on eating clean. I will eat good wholesome foods that nurish not only my body but my soul. I have a history of binge eating so I will need to focus on finding other outlets for stress other than food. My weightloss goal for the first three months is to loose at least 25 pounds.
This is a big year for me. I feel for the first time in my life that I will actually be able to reach my goals. I have never felt that way before. I think learning to face my fears in the last challenge helped me gain confidence in myself. I am looking forward to this year more than ever!

SO, now I am off to the track. I have to start running if I am going to reach my goals. Today I also have to figure out what race I am going to run in January!!

destination-me-picturejillian-michaels

Leave a Reply

