Destination Me – First Challenge

Jillian posted her first challenge. It is not really  a challenge this week – she is urging us to get on track with her basic principles. I am already doing these so my challenge this week is to just keep doing them:

Eat every4 hours:  I have been eating her way which is breakfast, lunch, snack, dinner. It basically works out to around 4 hours… it fits my schedule and I stay ok all day.

Breakfast: 7:00-7:15
Lunch: 11:30-12:00
Snack: 3:30-4:00
Dinner: 6:00 – 6:30

For fitness she drives home that you need to get your heartrate up to it’s 85% max heartrate. This is really the key to burning calories. For me, if I get my heartrate up that high I can burn 300 calories in 20 minutes. If I keep it lower in my target heartrate zone it takes 36 minutes to burn 300 calories. (That was one of my own little test). So, the longer I can stay at 85% the more calories I am going to burn.

For the Life goal: this week she wants to make sure we have a plan that day and schedule time for ourselves to be healthy. I am definately doing this. My own personal goal this week, now that I am back to work after having 3 weeks off, is to remember that work is work, it is not me. I am trying to not get wrapped up in all the drama and crisises at work and continue to focus on me. It is easy to try to talk my way out of my lunch time workout. I can’t do that anymore. I deserve my lunch break and I will take it.

Here goes!

2 Comments

  1. Linda

    I like your attitude towards work. I see people here at my office sit at their desks eating lunch and most of them are the most stressed out people. I like to get away, take a walk outside and clear the head – even in this cold I’ll take a walk.

    Have a great day!

  2. Tami

    How do I become a part of Jillian Michaels Destination ME 2009 Challenge. I’ve heard about it & have done a google search on it, but can’t find anywhere to show me where I can sign up for it. Thank you for any help you can give me.

    Tami

Leave a Reply

