Off to a good start this week

My goal is to lose at least 3 pounds this week. I am so close to the 50 pound mark I can’t stand it! I only lost one pound last week and the week before. I have been working out like crazy, but probably not keeping up with my calories as much as I should. Jillian has me at 1391 calories a day right now and I think I have a mental block with being below 1400. I will just have to get over it because my calorie allowance decreases whenever I lose weight so I might as well get used to it. I started off with 1800 so it really does feel like I am being punished!

I had three great workouts today – Jillian’s 30 Day Shred this morning 268 calories burned (Funny, I check my log and when I first start Shred about 20 some pounds ago I burned about 400 calories doing the same workout). I really have gotten much fitter since I first did it back in September. It doesn’t mean it is really a whole lot easier. I do not feel like I am going to die anymore, but it still kicks my butt.

Lunch was a 30 minute workout on the elliptical. I went hard for 30 minutes and kept my heart at 85% of my max the entire time. I burned 430 calories.

Tonight I did run/walk on the incline. I actually walked more than I ran – I did some short running intervals on the incline. I burned another 320 calories.

1018 for today. Tomorrow will be a good day with speed training. I usually burn at least 500 calories. I will not be able to do a lunch workout because of my doctor’s appointment. I might try to wake up earlier and do longer workout in the morning.

The key to getting through this week will be to stop thinking about the food! If I could just stop being hungry!

4 Comments

  1. Linda

    Did you try gum?

    Anxious to hear of your appointment.

    It is hard getting the mind off food – there must be another way to think – it sure would help me.

    Mom

  2. lauraph2009

    Actually gum is a great idea and it does work a lot of the time. I am not much of a gum chewer, but I went through a pack last week. It does help!

  3. Hi! I found your blog by Googling newbie runner blogs–this is GREAT! Wow, I am impressed–you work out A LOT! I have always wanted to run, but chondromalachia patella has plagued me since my early twenties. I am 35. I have had surgery on the left knee and will be having surgery on the right probably next year. I will bookmarking you and am eager to see your progress!

  4. lauraph2009

    Allison! Thanks for stopping by. I am so happy you found me. I bet it is hard being plagued by knee problems. Your blog site is beautiful – you have some really nice photos. Your life up in New England sounds amazing!

Leave a comment