Four miles today

I is so funny now that I have been running a couple of months. I remember getting so anxious about my “long” weekend runs… I would think about them all week and wonder how I would do. Now I just go out and run 4 miles no problem. It is pretty exciting. Tonight I ran 4 miles in 44:38. Last July when I participated in a 5K (I cannot even say I ran it at this point), I finished in 46 minutes. My feet were in terrible pain, my shins hurt so bad I could barely walk and I could hardly breathe. Now tonight I ran 4 miles almost 2 minutes faster than that.

Tonight the plan was:
1 mile at 13 min pace
2 miles at 11 min pace
1 mile at 13 min pace

Actual, roughly: it is hard to get exact unless I start my Garmin over each mile. I did start it over after the first mile so I am sure of the first and second mile paces.
1 mile at 11:30
1 mile at 10:30
1 mile at 10:45
1 mile at 11:00+

I just had a urge to run a bit faster. I figured that I am not really going that fast anyway so 30 seconds faster should not hurt me.

On the schedule for tomorrow it says ” cross train or take the day off”, hmmmm… I think I will take the day off from cardio. I will just do my Core Performance routine for the day. I am currently on week 4 of the 12 week program and do feel like my core is getting stronger. There are some balancing moves that I am also getting much better at.

Now I have to go use the foam roller! Believe it or not, that is even getting easier!

3 Comments

  1. Linda

    Keep up the good work!

  2. Ted

    Yeah, now you just do it. Oops sorry, how about Impossible is Nothing?

  3. lauraph2009

    yes, “Impossible is Nothing” sounds MUCH better!

Leave a Reply

