The next challenge

I started this year off planning on doing challenge after challenge to get fit and hopefully win prizes.  I haven’t gotten very far with the winning prizes part and I really haven’t been focused on an formal challenge. My challenge became getting fit enough to Get Over It – get over the Cooper River Bridge. I did and I am happy, but I cannot stop there. I still have 40 pounds to lose and many races to run.

I need to focus on smaller goals to get to the two big goals:

Lose 40 pounds by September
Run a half marathon in December

For the next 12 weeks here is the plan:

Follow Hal Higdon’s novice half marathon plan to build my endurance
Follow Jillian Michael’s new plan “Master Your Metabolism” which is a diet focused on going more organic and vegetarian – focus on eating healthy whole foods and avoiding processed foods
Learn more about heart disease and nutrition so I can support my parents in their effort to get healthy

Today:

Fitness: Today was cross training day on the running plan. I did 30 minutes on the elliptical. It was a good workout at lunch and I burned 300 calories.

Food: My diet was pretty clean today:
B: 3 egg whites w/ 1 cup oatmeal
L: salad of greens, tomatoes, sprouts and olive oil and vinegar dressing; 1 small sweet potato, 1 greek yogurt
S: apple
D: Large salad like lunch but also with garbanzo beans, 1 hard boiled egg. flax crackers

Tonight I am going to get to bed early.

Leave a Reply

