The big 6-0 and radishes!

So, the first good news tonight is that my one pound loss this week finally brought my to a total loss of 60 pounds. I am very pleased. 40 more to go!

The next good news is that my radishes are sprouting in my garden! I just planted them last weekend so this was a surprise.

Here are the little sprouts:

img_01741

I got all the tomato plants planted yesterday, today I caged them and planted the marigolds around them. Apparently pests do not like marigolds so they are beneficial to the garden. Here are some random garden pictures:

Katheryn's tomato plant!

Katheryn's tomato plant!

Kat's plant on the left, Black Krim on the right

Kat's plant on the left, Black Krim on the right

Two Brandywines on the left and a "Morgage Lifter" on the right

Two Brandywines on the left and a "Morgage Lifter" on the right

The exciting "Kung Pao" pepper!

The exciting "Kung Pao" pepper!

Newly planted lettuce and zuchini in the background

Newly planted lettuce and zuchini in the background

Another nice thing happened yesterday that I forgot to mention. I nice lady I work with brought me some flowers… not just any flowers, but “Moose Turd” flowers. These flowers were grown from seeds that I brought her back from Alaska about 6 years ago. They were a touristy souvenier that had seeds inside little moose manure pellets. It was cute, and since she was a gardener I brought them back for her. Every year she tells me how great her “Moose Turd” flowers are doing, but I have never seen them. Yesteray she brought me some for my desk. It was nice treat to have my dreary little office brightened up by some flowers:

Moose Turd flowers

Moose Turd flowers

 A view of my very messy desk!

A view of my very messy desk!

Working at my computer was more enjoyable with my flowers, until I started sneezing!

Working at my computer was more enjoyable with my flowers, until I started sneezing!

Tomorrow I am going to work at a 5K race in Spartanburg with the Spartanburg Running Club, then I am going to Lowes for more manure and mushroom compost to spread in my garden. I have a few more beds to create and seeds to plant!

Leave a Reply

