Very busy Sunday!

I had the most productive Sunday and now I am beat! I got everything done I wanted to today and more.

I started my day by heading to Harmon Field at 8:30 for a 5 mile run. I wanted to beat the heat. I barely did – by the time my run was over it was 83… that was at 9:30. I felt good the whole time, but took a couple of walking/drink break. I definitely am going to get used to this heat. I finished in 59:59. I had issues with my shorts again. I cannot seem to find a comfortable pair that doesn’t ride up. I was much happier in my running capris.

I drove home and quickly got ready to go to the garden. I didn’t want to waster any time as the temperature was rising. I packed lots of water and brought my sunscreen. I worked one hour creating the first of the last two beds. I got it ready and planted the yellow wax beans and the cowpeas. By that time I was pretty hungry so I hopped on the Ranger to go get some lunch.

After an awesome tuna sandwich I put in another load of laundry and headed out.

I finished up the last bed – I just do not know what I am going to plant in it yet. I will have to head back to the farm supply store this week to find something else. After that was done I headed to the mulch pile and mulched the tomato beds and the lettuce.

Oh the poor lettuce…. I meant to take a picture of them. The ones John planted look good, but the ones I just planted in the bed look terrible. Not a delicious looking salad, that’s for sure.  Well, at that point I felt like how the little, withered lettuces looked so I headed home.

I was a relief to get out of the sun. I got back to the house at 1:00 and started in on my household chores. The house has been neglected while I have been off running and gardening these past couple of weeks.

Here is what I managed to get done:

grocery shopped
ALL laundry done, folded and PUT AWAY
bathroom cleaned – including tub and floor
stairs swept and mopped
living room and bedroom  dusted, included ceiling fans
living room and bedroom vacuumed (sprinkled the carpet with baking soda with a few drops of lavender essential oil – it smells great)
sheets changed and bed made
refrigerator cleaned out
All kitchen counters cleaned up of clutter and wiped down
dishwasher loaded, run, then emptied
kitchen sink cleaned to a shine
kitchen mopped

After all of this I went back to the garden to water it now that the sun was heading down. I can’t find the sprinkler. I found one, but it really didn’t do the job. I just stood there with the hose and watered for awhile. I have to come up with a better plan.

Got home again and made myself a delicious hamburger on the grill. It was amazing.

John finally called – he won first place in his race! Now he has a long drive home from Tennessee – almost an 8 hour drive. Thankfully he is riding with others. He was happy to hear that now, because I can operate the Ranger, I took the trash down to the end of the driveway since tomorrow is trash day. His most dreaded job after races is the trash – so I spared him.

Well, it is almost 8:00 so I am going to take another shower and I might even go to bed.

1 Comment

  1. Linda

    Wow you are a busy girl. You are just like me obsessed with the pepper plants. I bought a habanero this weekend. I bought seeds for basil and parsley, couldn’t find any plants. We have a Farm Supply store we enjoy browsing. We’ll have to take you to it next time you are over.

    Your garden is beautiful, looks like a lot of work but hopefully it will be worth it. This being your first year it will be testing to see what grows and what doesn’t.

    It is great you are keeping up with your running and congrats on the 60 lb. mark.

Leave a Reply

