sprouts galore

The garden seems to be off to a good start. There are plenty of sprouts coming up. I watered a bit today, but since rain is supposed to be coming tomorrow I didn’t over do it.

Okra sprouts! I can't wait to see these full size. The are supposed to get over 4 feet tall!

Okra sprouts! I can't wait to see these full size. The are supposed to get over 4 feet tall!

This is the green bean bed. You can kind of see the srouts coming up.

This is the green bean bed. You can kind of see the sprouts coming up.

A close-up of one of the bean sprouts!

A close-up of one of the bean sprouts!

Watermelon

Watermelon

Look closely  - the bit of green sticking up is the start of a carrot! Well, it is coming up where I planted the carrots, anyway....

Look closely - the bit of green sticking up is the start of a carrot! Well, it is coming up where I planted the carrots, anyway....

Just a view of one side of the garden... I never got a picture from this angle before.

Just a view of one side of the garden... I never got a picture from this angle before.

Here is another angle I haven't captured before. The bad thing is you can't see any plants.

Here is another angle I haven't captured before. The bad thing is you can't see any plants.

Before all of this I did my nightly run. Tonight was hill night so I headed out to the hill behind the pond again. The goal tonight was to run up and down 6 times. I didn’t bring the Garmin or the I-Pod, just me and the hill. It good. I felt strong the first 4 hills and my legs were really feeling it the last two. I ran about 7:30, after dinner… probably not a great idea. I was starving at dinner because I didn’t have a huge lunch and I missed my afternoon snack. By the time I got home and made dinner I was famished. I had the best taco salad. Calorie-wise it was not so bad, but I did eat a lot and I felt full. That was at 6:00. I still felt full at 7:30. I hate it when I get that hungry.

The best part of today is that today is my FRIDAY! I took of this week because I thought we were going to Florida for John’s race. But, he just found out that it was canceled due to high forest fire risk. So, I am taking off anyway! Tomorrow I am going for a run, getting my oil changed in my car and my hair cut. Then, if the weather holds up I am going to mulch more of my garden.

1 Comment

  1. Linda

    Your garden is looking beautiful!

    I forgot you were taking off. I sent the following and received your out of office message:

    Raw Alfalfa Sprouts linked to salmonella contamination

    The US Food and Drug Administration (FDA) and the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) today recommended that consumers not eat raw alfalfa sprouts and food establishments to stop serving raw alfalfa sprouts until further notice. This product has been liked to Salmonella Saintpaul.

    A girl at work took me out to lunch a couple days ago to Jason’s Deli and we noticed a sign about them not serving sprouts. We at that time didn’t know about this warning.

    Love Mom

Leave a Reply

