A new week!

This week is already so much  better than last week (knock on wood!). Work was terribly stressful last week but so far, so good this week.  I also spent most of last week in pain with my hips. The last two days have been rough, but today it seems to be better. I am going to take it easy the next few days and just continue with the elliptical. I want to run again this weekend, but I am going to play it by ear.

The garden is going ok. The rain brought loads of weeds that I need to pull. I pulled a bunch tonight but there are still many to go. The beans are on the path to recovery… only because I finally killed the aphids with insecticide. I really wanted an organic garden, but I also do not want to lose all the the plants and waste all of our hard work. I think having an organic garden is a full time job. Since I already have a full time job and have mnay other things I want to do with my days, I think I will have to resort to chemicals. The insecticide worked.

Now I have to investigate what is happening to my tomato plants. The other day I went to the garden to find the German Pink on it’s side. The stem looked like it snapped near the base. It was a pretty clean snap – it didn’t snap all the way through. After some research on forums and reading articles I decided to go the route of burying the broken part of the stem. Supposedly tomatoes are good at creating new roots for themselves…. time will tell.

Here is the German Pink that will hopefully repair itself.

Here is the German Pink that will hopefully repair itself.

Today I went out to find another tomato plant broken at the base. This one does not look snapped off like the other one. This one looks more withered at the base. It was completely separated and completely wilted. There was no hope for resurrecting it. I pulled it up and found a nasty looking thing  in the ground near the root – John said it is a cut worm. I am going to look into that now to see if it was the cause. Stupid me did not kill it. It is over there in the garden now probably eating my other plants!

Here is the recent casuality - the Roma.

Here is the recent casuality - the Roma.

The nasty culprit

The nasty culprit

A close-up

A close-up

Now some more appealing pictures… there are a lot of roses blooming….

The picture does not do it justice. It is beautiful and it smells wonderful!

The picture does not do it justice. It is beautiful and it smells wonderful!

These pink roses are grown all over the place - these are climbing up a tree

These pink roses are grown all over the place - these are climbing up a tree

IMG_0215

1 Comment

  1. Linda

    What an ugly worm. The roses are beautiful. I guess this first year of the garden is a lot of experimenting, especially with the little rotten creatures crawling around. I hope no more go on you.

Leave a Reply

