Recovering from the past week!

I have been so busy getting ready for the birthday party and then having the birthday party and keeping up with the puppy that I have not had time to post in a few days. Katheryn’s birthday weekend was great. The food was wonderful and the company was even better. I love nothing more than to cook a big meal and enjoy it with my family.

With all the rain I have not spent a whole lot of time in the garden. I did take everyone over to witness the harvesting of my first radish. I got it all on film and will post it soon. I takes so long to download that I need to plan ahead, and I haven’t.

A shot of the first radish. At this point it looks like it might be huge... it wasn't!

A shot of the first radish. At this point it looks like it might be huge... it wasn't!

The radish was not as large as I thought it would be. We brought it home, washed it and I split it up so we could all taste it. Now THAT is a picture I should have gotten. The radish was HOT HOT HOT! I have never had such a hot radish. I could barely swallow it!  So far it doesn’t look like I will have another radish anytime soon. When I do get another one I will leave it in the ground a bit longer – maybe it will mellow out.

I went back to the garden on Monday to find it practically flooded. Thank goodness for my raised beds – it really helped keep the veggies from drowning!

There are motes around the beds!

There are motes around the beds!

It was a big mud pit!

It was a big mud pit!

Also on Friday I was so happy because I finally found sweet potato slips to plant. I have been waiting patiently for the end of May to come with the garden center said they would be stock. Katheryn and I went to the farm supply Monday and got two bunches of sweet potatoes – a Beauregard and the Red Jewel. I really wanted a couple of different types to see which did better. I got the bunches home – unfortunately I did not capture any pictures… I really need to do better. I found a stock photo – mine were dirtier, longer and more mangled looking.

sweet potato slip

I planted my two bunches outside of the fenced in area. After some research I learned that sweet potatoes tend to take over the landscape. I certainly did not want them to ruin my lovely garden. Plus, after unbundling the two bunches I discovered I had 50 (yes, FIFTY) sweet potato plants. (I hope everyone likes sweet potatoes!!) Hopefully my sweet potato harvest will look like this:

Will my 50 slips turn into this?? haha

Will my 50 slips turn into this?? hahaha

Here are the rows I planted:

three rows of sweet potatoes

three rows of sweet potatoes

IMG_0240

My garden is looking more lush everyday – the plants are getting larger and the weeds are coming up like crazy. I can devote about an hour each night to working on a bed and a couple of rows before the bugs start eating me!

2 Comments

  1. Brian

    hope you have twice as many sweet potatoes as that picture!

  2. lauraph2009

    Thanks! If I do I will have to share!

Leave a Reply

