Day 1 – P90X

On Saturday I started my 90 day challenge with P90X. I have the DVD’s, the equipment, the diet and the food. I am ready to go! For the diet I will be following the Fat Shredder plan and following roughly an 1800 calorie, high protien diet. I get one portion of carbohydrates a day – I will have to make that one a good one!!!

I am starting out following the meal plan that is printed in the book:

IMG_0275

It doesn't LOOK like a lot of food...

It doesn't LOOK like a lot of food...

Seriously? This is a TON of food!

Seriously? This is a TON of food!

The mushroom omelet contained: 6 egg whites, 3/4 cup mushrooms, 1.5 oz. lowfat cheddar and 2T salsa.
Yes, that is one whole cup of 1% cottage Cheese. The strawberries and cottage cheese are a meal themselves. Towards the end it was hard taking those last few bites. For the omelet I actually tried something different – I bought the liquid egg whites – YUCK! they were horrible. Normally I love egg whites, but these had a horrible aftertaste. I dumped the rest down the drain. Also, as you can see, I made more of a scramble then I did an omelet.

While I let my massive breakfast rest I cleaned the house and continued to read about the P90X plan.

11:00 rolled around and my breakfast seemed settled….. down to the gym. I love my hone gym and now it is even better with the addition of the new equipment for P90X:

The pull up bar with the resistance tube hanging from it.

The pull up bar with the resistance tube hanging from it.

OUr new mats - mine has the new "Perfect Push-up" things.

OUr new mats - mine has the new "Perfect Push-up" things.

Since John and I are both doing the routine I thought he should have his own mat – a new manly black mat. I found them at TJMaxx – they are really thick and they were really cheap! Now that they are open I know why – they have a terrible rubber smell to them. I will have to figure out what to do about that. If I do not pass out from the workout intensity I will pass out due to the rubber fumes!

The DVD's came organized in this little DVD book - we printed out our exercise worksheets to keep track of weights and reps.

The DVD's came organized in this little DVD book - we printed out our exercise worksheets to keep track of weights and reps.

Chest and back - workout 1!

Chest and back - workout 1!

Tony Horton, a.k.a. ” my new trainer” (sorry Jillian), calls the Chest and Back routine the “mother of all workouts”.  Yes… I was one of the hardest I have ever done. Even considering I couldn’t really even do most of the moves and had to modify everything. I was sweating like crazy and by the end my arms were shaking and my hands ached. Although I cannot do pull ups he gives a couple of modifications. One is assisted pull-ups where you keep a chair or bench underneath and put one foot on it and use your leg to help assist you up ( I will photograph later!). The other is to use the resistance bands. I chose to do the assisted pull-ups and I am paying for it now!!

By the end of the night I could start feeling muscle soreness set in. Normally I do not get sore until the 2nd or 3rd day affter a workout! So, now it is Sunday morning and I am very sore. By the end of the week my whole body should feel this way! haha

Today is “Plyo X” – plyometrics – which I love. I know it will be tought, but at least I will be able to perform the moves! Jillian’s tapes are mostly all plyo so I know most of the moves.

Today I will also spend time getting the rest of our food stocked. A trip down to the best store in the world is in order. We need some protein powder.  John’s diet is more carb based and mine more protein but between the two of us we will be eating almost a dozen eggs a day is we do not find an alternate protein source. I also need to find a “recovery drink”. I am hoping the Costco somes through for me – it not, I will head over to GNC.

2 Comments

  1. Looking very ogranized. Thanks for the detailed layout and good luck with the program.

  2. sci

    Great – keep us posted – Looks like you are ready to rock.

Leave a Reply

