Kenpo! Day 6

I can’t believe week 1 is almost over! It was pretty good… tonight was Kenpo. I do not know how the P90X DVD compares to the real practice, but it was a really good workout.

IMG_0318

I was sweating bullets by the end… luckily I was wearing my fancy Bondi Band.

It is supposed to keep the sweat out of my eyes, but it just really made my head hot!

It is supposed to keep the sweat out of my eyes, but it just really made my head hot! (odd pose.. it is hard to take a picture of yourself!)

The Kenpo workout is a lot of punching and kicking and at one time I had swear dripping down my legs. It is amazing out punches can get the heart rate up! During one punching sequence my heartrate got up to 150! The higher the heartrate the more calories are burned so that was a good sign.

By the end I burned 671 calories! My highest heartrate for this workout was 160 – that is pretty good!

Love to see those calories burned!

Love to see those calories burned!

Kenpo was a nice mix of my favorite moves from Tae Bo and Jillian’s workouts. I will definitely be looking forward to this one each week.

After the P90X workouts Tony recommends a recovery drink… I do not like the recovery drink I bought – it does not taste that great and it has a ton of calories in it. I KNOW I am supposed to be eating more calories on this plan, but I cannot bring myself to take 300 calories in via a drink I do not like. So, tonight, I made a raspberry smoothie with some greek yogurt, milk and a half of a scoop of chocolate protein powder.

I am so happy that I got a new Magic Bullet  - I love that thing!

I am so happy that I got a new Magic Bullet - I love that thing! (That's the gross recovery drink in the background).

YUMMY! It was so good! The fresh raspberries from Costco were wonderful!

YUMMY! It was so good! The fresh raspberries from Costco were wonderful!

Tomorrow is the big day! Weigh-in day. I guess tonight was my last-chance-workout…. I am a bit nervous to get on the scale. This week has been perfect – but I do not feel any lighter. It is hard to feel lighter when the muscles are so sore. I guess I will find out in a few hours! Good Night

5 Comments

  1. Linda

    The cup on the Magic Bullet looks different, it looks like it has a spout for pouring.. Nice photos.

  2. Brian

    miller high life glass – nice touch… I’m interested to see how p90x works out. seems to make a lot of sense from the commericals

  3. lauraph2009

    Yes, I figure if I put all my healthy stuff in fun glasses it will taste better! haha… yes, P90X seems to make sense, time will tell. I am going to start running again this week to add more cardio and get back into running shape. I still want to run some races so I have to get busy!

  4. lauraph2009

    It is – the new one comes with a little pitcher like a regular blender. It is really handy.

  5. Brian

    know your limits! I haven’t been running much at all lately with my blasted foot. Rode 50 miles in the mtns today though! Have to get my fix somehow.

Leave a Reply

