P90X – Day 10

I am determined this week to burn a serious amount of calories and get below my next goal weight. Last week I burned 4800 calories – I am going to try to top that this week! I am going to add extra cardio at lunch everyday. As hard as P90X is I think my body needs more cardio to lose the weight. I think the double sessions everyday will do the trick. Depending on how I feel each week I might not double up everyday, but this week I am for sure.

Today I really think I mastered the food. I felt great all day and was ready for each meal, but wasn’t starving like I was last week. I decreased the amount of “fake” protein (the extra protein drinks, etc). and focused more on real food.

This morning was a Green Monster with unsweetened vanilla flavored almond milk and a tablespoon of flax seeds. It really was the best one yet.  I got the huge bag of flax at Costco… I will have to share so it will not go bad before I get to eat it all.  I have learned over the years that you can’t go crazy with this stuff! Almond milk is so good – I prefer it over regular milk. It only has 40 calories per cup.

IMG_0380

With my smoothie I had one Kashi waffle with 1/4 cup cottage cheese. This yummy breakfast held strong until my 10:00 snack! For snack I had one of my new Balance protein bars in Chocolate Chip cookie dough. It is really good.

Before lunch today I hit the elliptical and burned 400 calories in 30 minutes. I was really going strong and sweating like crazy. I forgot my gym towel so I had to keep wiping my face off with my shirt – not a pretty sight! I did a great interval session:

5 min warm-up on level 5 at 5 miles per hour
For every minute after that I raised the resistance and speed…I averaged 6.5- 7mph until level 15
I stayed at level 15 for 5 minutes then started back down one level at a time – keeping the speed steady.

My legs were burning, but it felt great. After a quick shower it was time to eat! I brought two leftover chicken burger patties from yesterday and a huge salad. The burger patties were really delicious chopped up and tossed with the salad. It filled me up. I also drank a huge glass of water – that workout left me thirsty.

Work, work, work…. I worked a lot today but not sure I accomplished anything. That’s how it is sometimes. That’s ok – at 3:30 I was still ready for a snack. I really look forward to my feeding times! The afternoon snack was a Chobani Greek yogurt with a cup of fresh mix of blueberries and raspberries. It was delicious.

I was so happy when I got home and remember dinner was cooked – I put chicken in the crockpot this morning so all I had to do was cook up some veggies and some brown rice and I was all set. I made a recipe from my cookbook “Clean Eating” by Tosca Reno. It is called Apricot and Chicken Curry – it was not meant for the crockpot, but I thought I would try it anyway. It had really good flavor, but the chicken was dry due to the extended cooking. I made up some green beans with sauteed shallot and toasted almonds. I think that was the best part of the meal.

Apricot and Chicken Curry

Apricot and Chicken Curry

I had a sweet tooth afterward so I had two small dates. They are as sweet as candy…. so good.

After dinner I just relaxed.. I started thundering so I was hoping for rain and didn’t go water my garden – I hope I do not regret that decision because it is now almost 10:00 PM and no reain yet. Maybe some will come over the night.

At 7:00 my food was settled enough for some P90X. Arms and Shoulders, topped off with some Ab X. I was ready to “Bring It”, as Tony says… I really wanted to up my weights since I went easy last week. (Last week at this time I couldn’t move my arms deu to all the pull-ups and push-ups I did the first day!). This week I was ready and really hit it hard. I could barely push out those last few reps – the last three were tough, just like they were supposed to be. The the time the last set came I was wasted and really dreading Ab X. It is so tough but I made it through… another 483 calories burned!

Once again it’s time for bed… I am so ready to lay down!

Leave a Reply

