It’s official

I forgot to post this weekend that I am officially signed up for the half marathon December 12th! Charlotte’s Thunder Road Amica Insurance Half Marathon

thunder road

The half marathon is part of the main Thunder Road Marathon – it should be fun.

I have been investigating half marathon training programs and I think I am going to have a combination of two. I really liked the plan I trained with for the 10K so I am pretty much going to follow that and use the McMillian pace calculator for the paces I need to run.

I need to stay focused and finished up with P90X by the end of August and finish strong! Then, in September I am going to take a couple of weeks to really work on speed work so I can set a new 5K PR in the Susan G Komen Race for the Cure. I really want to finish in 29 minutes (or less).  My official half marathon training will not start until October.

My training will only have me running three days a week so I am going to be able to do a lot of cross training. I am going to keep my 6 day a week workout schedule so three days a week I am going to continue with P90X workouts. I have gained a lot of strength with these workouts and I do not want to lose that!

I have a busy rest of the year ahead!

2 Comments

  1. Linda

    Good luck! We’ll be there watching you.

  2. lauraph2009

    Thank you! I love sharing these days with you guys!

Leave a Reply

