Tools to get the job done!

Yesterday started the next phase of my challenge.  The few goals I have for the rest of the year:

Run a half marathon – I am registered for the Thunder Road Half on December 12th.
Lose 25 pounds of fat
Gain muscle
Increase my flexibility
Train without getting injured

I have a pretty specific plan for accomplishing these goals:

Half Marathon
I will be following Hal Higdon’s Novice Half plan. This is a 12 week program that I will start promptly on September 21st. Until then I have some other goals that I will work on.

  • First up with the Race for the Cure 5K on September 26th. For the next couple of weeks I am going to continue building my mileage but adding some speed training once a week. My goal for the 5K is 29 minutes.
  • Next will be the Ache Around the Lake 8K on October 10th. This is a very hilly race that should be an excellent challenge.

I will also be using my Garmin along with the Training Peaks software that I found on-line. This will give me my work-outs and I will be able to track my progress.  I also got a new pair of my favorite shoes – the Supernova Cushions.

IMG_0119

Training Peaks, downloaded with Hal Higdon's program will tell me what to do everyday!

Training Peaks, downloaded with Hal Higdon's program will tell me what to do everyday!

Lose 25 pounds of fat

This should happen with a combination of the running, the weight training and diet. I am going to follow the calorie recommendations outlined in the weight training program I will be talking about in a minute. It is fairly close to the plan I have been following with Jillian Michael’s, but a bit higher on calories. I will be allowed 1400-1600 calories a day, depending on my workout that day. I will get more calories the harder I work out. Most of my calorie deficit will come from only working out rather than decreasing my food too much. Since I will be working out so hard I need to keep my energy up. I might not lose weight as quickly but I should be losing fat.

Gain Muscle

One thing I learned with P90X is that I really liked lifting weights. I REALLY like being able to see my muscles. I didn’t want to to P90X again so I looked into some programs out there that I could use free weights and the other things I already had either at home or at work. I found the book The New Rules of Weight Lifting for Women by Lou Schuler, with Cassandra Forsythe and Alwyn Cosgrove.

IMG_0120This book is full of really good information. The authors seem very accomplished and the book says everything I needed to hear right now about weightlifting and calories, etc. The lifting program is supposed to be three days a week; Monday, Wednesday and Friday. Since Friday is my running rest day I really want to keep it for resting. I will either try to do some weights on the weekend or just do two sessions a week. I will give it a couple of weeks and be flexible. The program is completely different than P90X in that you are lifting slower and heavier. I can tell you that so far I feel the difference. I did the first workout last night and I am SORE!

Increase Flexibility

I think I am one of the least flexible people I know! I am going to make a good effort to regularly incorporate a stretching routine in my days. My wonderful massage therapist Bonnie recommended a specific style of stretching that she is certified in – it is the Mattes Method. It is Active Isolated Stretching. I have the book and the fancy rope and have already done many stretches twice this week.

IMG_0121

Train without getting injured!

Last but not least… I do not want to get hurt. There are many things I want to do but I will have to focus on staying healthy. My pulled hips really hurt this spring and really put a halt to my running. I am going to follow the plan and not get overly confident when I am feeling good and try to run faster or longer than I should.   I have to stretch. I also want to get two massages per month instead of one – they are just so hard to schedule.

So, off I go! These should be some interesting months!

4 Comments

  1. p90xakers

    Hello Laura, it’s been awhile. I see you have a new plan to stay in shape. I’m done with P90X too for the most part. I was going to try and finish my 2nd round but I’m getting bored with it. I made it through 8 weeks but that’s it. I’m going to start doing new workouts and lift heavier weights b/c I want more size instead of getting lean. Well I hope all is well and keep up the good work. Take it easy.

    -Akers

  2. Hi Laura! What an inspiring blog! Happy to hear that TrainingPeaks is helping you to work towards your goals. Would you be interested in being featured on the TrainingPeaks blog? Let me know! Thanks,

    Elizabeth

  3. lauraph2009

    Thanks for visiting! I would love the opportunity to appear on your blog. I sent you an e-mail.

  4. lauraph2009

    Hi! I am happy you are doing well. I get bored easily so I have to keep changing things up. It’s awesome that you did another 8 weeks of P90X! You must be in really great shape now! Take care

Leave a Reply

