Lake Lanier run

Today I had the opportunity to run around Lake Lanier with a group of runners from Tryon.  I have been to Lake Lanier a couple of times, but not ever all the way around the lake. I knew there would be hills and I was ready.

I woke up and had a delicious cup of coffee – it always seems to taste better on weekends! About an hour before my run I had two pieces of toast Ezekiel bread with almond butter and a green drink.

IMG_0149

I new it would be warm and probably no bathrooms along the route so I hydrated yesterday and early today so I wouldn’t have to drink a whole lot right before running or during the run. My plan worked out great. I wasn’t too hot so I really was ok without having water with me. I still could have gone to the bathroom a couple  of miles in, but it passed.

The run was around Lakeshore Drive. We started at the top near where Butter Street comes down and headed counter-clockwise down West Lakeshore Drive, down and around to East Lakeshore Drive and back to our starting point at Lake Lanier Tea House.

After crossing the dam there is a short, but fairly steep hill they call “grunt hill”. I made it up at a pretty steady pace. The whole loop had a lot of hills but I kept a pretty steady pace and managed to run up most of them. I thought all the hills were in the beginning of the loop so around mile 4 I thought I was home free. I tried to pick up my pace only to discover the hills continued. I had to walk a couple of times – just a minute to get my heart rate back down a bit. My legs felt good the whole time.

We ran 4.80 miles and I finished in 54:07. Considering the hills and that I just started running consistently again I am very happy with how I did.

I got home and had a quick snack and stretched. I really worked on my hips and legs and then also my feet.I have done the leg and hip stetches a few times this week, but the foot and ankle stretches were new. They felt really good so I will continue to do those on running days.

The rest of the day I spent alternating between lounging and cleaning. I rented a few movies that I am going to try to get through. I haven’t rented movies for awhile and since I am on my own tonight I thought I would try to watch some.  So, on the list to watch are:

“The Curious Case of Benjamin Button”
“Sunshine Cleaning”
“Goodbye Solo”

Tonight I am making my favorite meal – spanakopita. I am using one of my favorite recipes from one of my favorite cookbooks – Jeff Smith’s “The Frugal Gourmet Cooks Three Ancient Cuisines: China, Greece and Rome”.

IMG_0153IMG_0152

This recipe calls for a half of a pound of butter – first of all I did cut this recipe in half, then I probably used 2 tablespoons of butter. I just cannot bring myself to use it all. A little goes a long way.

In making these you have to work quickly because the phyllo dough dries out quickly. A few layers of dough with butter then the filling – spinach with feta all rolled up and cooked until brown.

I splurged on some “authentic” feta cheese. It is made from goat and sheep milk rather than the apparenlty non-authentic cow’s milk. It cost twice as much so we shall see if it makes a difference.

IMG_0150IMG_0154IMG_0155IMG_0160

They were delicious, but not better than the ones my mom made for me a few months ago. She got a recipe from a friend of hers that is Greek. Hers is more of a pie – nice and thick and cheesy.

Now I have to get started on those movies!

2 Comments

  1. Linda

    Those look yummy!The one I made had cottage cheese in it too.

    You sound like you are off to a good start with this challenge.

    How about eating 20 fruits – I know you are not a big fruit eater, right?

  2. lauraph2009

    I like the 20 fruits idea… you are right, this is my weak spot. I am not a huge fan. I will have to add it to the list I am pondering. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

