Our weight room

A lot of my lunch hours are spent in the workout room at work. I am very lucky to have a beautiful gym, that gets very little use, a locker room with showers AND fun people to workout with. Since starting the “New Rules of Lifting for Women” I have had some workout partners. It has been a blast so far. I think I burn more calories laughing sometimes than I do working out. That might not be a good thing, but it is fun.

A view of one half of the gym with the weight equipment

A view of one half of the gym with the weight equipment

Facing the other direction towards the cardio equipment

Facing the other direction towards the cardio equipment

The people working out are my workout buddies – Sue is in the black pants, Marie is in the blue pants and Ilka is in the red top. Everyone is working hard, except me apparently since I was taking pictures!!

They got some shots of me – first doing the dead lift, then demonstrating my version of the “jack knife” on the swiss ball:

IMG_0167IMG_0165The bar alone is 45 pounds… I really need to add some weights, but my legs are so sore lately I do not want make them worse!

IMG_0176IMG_0177The jack knife is fun, but pretty hard after awhile. It was an absolute blast watching Ilka and Marie do this. Both of them did great after they got the hang of it. I have hilarious pictures of the event but they refuse to let me post them on here. If we are lucky they will post them on their blogs!

Another neat thing that happened today is that I am featured on the blog page for the website Training Peaks. Shortly after I started using this website I was contacted by someone from the site about my story. She had read my blog and thought it would be a good story for the Training Peaks blog. I think it turned out really well. I love this website – I think it is going to be a huge help. PLUS, they have great customer service. I have contacted them twice; once to help get my Garmin to load and yesterday to see if I could change training plans. Both times they got back to me quickly and with very helpful information. I was making the loading of the Garmin data way too complicated – it is so easy! For my plan change they did it without question – very easy. I am very happy with them.

Now I am going to do some stretching and go to bed!

2 Comments

  1. Linda

    Nice photos of the gym and great article and pictures in Training Peaks. Keep up the great work!

  2. Ted

    Wow, you are a celebrity. Nice article on Training Peaks. I’m so proud of you.

Leave a Reply

