Yummy food

It was another stressful day at work. I am ready for this week to be over! I did have a few highlights today though that made it all worth while…

First, I got to exercise with Marie and Ilka. We did the 3 mile parking lot loop – we walked and ran. It was a gorgeous day and I just wanted to be outside and get some fresh air and sunshine. Those two are CRAZY and fun and I am NOT just saying this because they read the blog!!!  By the power of my magical Garmin I somehow apparently burned 750 calories. I can’t, in good faith, even count it. I have no idea how that happened. Normally my three mile run at lunch brings me a 400-something calorie burn.

The next highlight was getting home and remembering that I put food in the crock pot this morning. I am always happy when I realize I do not have to cook dinner when I am tired. The crock pot is hit-or-miss with me, not everything turns out good so even though I was happy I didn’t have to cook, I was worried that the food I did cook would not be good. Far from it! It was delicious. I threw it together this morning. I had some chicken tenders, cans of white beans, kale and tomatoes so I typed that in to Google and found some interesting recipes. None were for exactly what I had so I improvised.

Laura’s White Bean, Chicken and Kale Stew
1 red onion  – chopped
5 cloves of garlic, chopped
1 pound of chicken tenders
1 can of diced tomatoes
1 can of water
2 carrots, chopped
3 celery stalks, chopped
2 cans white navy beans
1 head kale, torn into bite-size chunks
dashes of salt, pepper, cayenne, and parsley

Saute the onions and peppers until cooked.
Put everything in the crock pot and mix it up.
Cook on low for 8 hours.
Serve with a sprinkling of Parmesan cheese over the top.

IMG_0250

These are leftovers…. it didn’t occur to me to take a picture of my bowl of food because it was so good and I was starving. Kale cooks up beautifully in the crock pot because it is so thick. There is NOTHING bad in this dish – it is all good and healthy food.

Then, after dinner I showered and got ready to watch Top Chef – I tape it on Wednesday to watch on Thursday. I was disappointed to find that there was not an episode on last night. I hate it when I can’t watch my shows! But, all was fine as I got comfy on the couch in my very favorite socks. My feet were freezing and there is nothing better than putting on a pair of Thorlo socks. These are seriously the greatest socks ever.

IMG_0252

They are supposed to be made for running – that is what I bought them for…. but, I think they are too thick in my shoes so I just wear them to lounge around in.

Last but not least, my sweet daughter called! That was a nice way to end the day.

That’s it… now I am going to bed.

1 Comment

  1. Ilka

    This looks good minus the beans. I’m not a real big bean person but otherwise this would be something I would definately eat.

Leave a Reply

