Baby Got Back

Yep, I do… thankfully my compression shorts hold it all in while I run! I love these things! yes, I do wear a pair of shorts over them – it would be hideous if I didn’t!

IMG_0290

I headed out for my  8 mile run today ready for business. I had my fancy compression shorts on and music loaded up on the iPod. I spent part of the morning going through my old CD’s trying to find something new to listen to.

IMG_0273

I found an old soundtrack for the Charlie’s Angels movie. I love that soundtrack and loaded it up. About 3 miles in Sir Mix- a-Lot started singing Baby Got Back. I love that song – it makes me happy to know that someone out there loves big butts!! haha  Hopefully mine is getting smaller, but it will, I am afraid, never be small.

I ran at a slower pace than last weekend – the plan says to run the Sunday long runs slower than I did last weekend, but mostly because my legs were a bit more tired from the race yesterday than they were last weekend. They were not sore or cement like, just tired. I took it easy and just enjoyed the music. I was thinking about trying to find a new route, but I would have had to run on roads (yuck) and would have had to leave the music behind. To run on roads you have to be ultra aware of the surroundings and I just wanted to have fun.

I made my way over to Harmon Field where I tried to mix up the route a bit to cover 8 miles. It was pretty easy to do. I am not one for looking around anyway so covering the same 2 mile loop over and over (4 times, actually) didn’t bother me at all. There are always new people to pass and a new song coming on. The people at Harmon Field are usually nice – mostly retired people and their dogs.

Half way through my run I briefly stopped for water and Gu…. I need to start experimenting with these things for my long runs. The other day at REI I bought a sampling of flavors:

IMG_0282The little packs in the back are the energy gels, the Sharkies are like energy packed organic gummie bears and the green pack on the left are ginger chews. Sometimes I get an upset stomach while I am running and I read something like this might be good. Luckily the Gu did not upset my stomach, but I am not sure what it did for me. I expected some sort of huge boost of energy. Who knows…. maybe without it I would not have been able to make the 8 miles. I do not know. I do know that it didn’t taste that great and for 100 calories I would have liked it to be better.  I chose the Vanilla Bean flavor today – it was warm and was like warm, pastey vanilla pudding. I think it might be better cold. Anyway, it was fine and I finished my run strong. (1 hour, 31 minutes).

I drove the long way home – through Landrum on Hwy 14 to check out some of the roads. The are a couple that actually look pretty good for running. I will try them if I can get someone to run with me. Until then I will stay at Harmon Field or make a trip to Charlotte to run the Greenways.

By the time I got home I was starving. I made a delicious sandwich with whole wheat bread, roasted garlic hummus, turkey, roasted red pepper, spinach and a smear of Greek yogurt. It was amazing! It was the best sandwich I have ever had. The Greek yogurt (the BEST food ever!) added a cool, creamy flavor that tied everything together. This will be my lunch this week. Today I did not figure the calories, but I will have to do that tomorrow.

IMG_0285

After this I had plenty of energy to do a few chores – mainly folding wash…. I generally let a few loads pile up before taking time to fold it. I got it and a few other things out of the way before sitting down and relaxing. I watched (and I am still watching a marathon of the show Numb3rs). I love this show and the miracle of math. Never being a math person I amazed that so many people make such good use out of it. haha

After a bit I had a strange craving for beer. I am not much of a beer drinker, but I couldn’t get it off my mind. Luckily I had one in the fridge so I put it in a chilled glass and enjoyed it out on the porch.

It was delicious!

It was delicious!

Now I am trying to figure out what I am going to do with myself all week. Decisions, decisions! I do have a massage tomorrow and Katheryn is coming home on Thursday, I have some running to do… even with all that excitement I have A LOT of hours to fill!

I have quite a few books and magazines to read:

My two newest books!

My two newest books!

Workouts this week – this week starts my official marathon training. All the training I have been doing so far has been to build my endurance up to start the marathon plan.

Tomorrow: cross train (I haven’t decided what that will be yet, I am thinking spinning but it depends on how my legs feel)
Tuesday: run 3 miles
Wednesday: run 5 miles
Thursday: run 3 miles
Friday: rest
Saturday: 5 miles
Sunday: 8 miles

Calories: I am going to try to stay around 1600. That is what I followed during P90X. Jillian has me at 1200 and that is just too low to run well and to feel sane. I really start dreading it when I go that low and then I end up cheating and going over. 1600 is about right and I should be able to lose a pound or so a week if I work out hard.

Good Night!

Leave a Reply

