Another day of relaxation

Today was not nearly as busy as yesterday. I had another relaxing morning reading and sipping coffee. It was a damp and foggy morning and it was hard to get outside and run – it seemed so cold.  I put on a long sleeve running shirt and went outside to see what it was like. It was cool at first, but I could tell that after running a bit I would be hot. The general rule is that you should dress like it is 20 degrees warmer than it feels. Since it was almost 60 that meant I should dress like it was 80… that seemed too hot. But, I put on my fancy compression shorts, shorts and one of my new REI shirts and headed to Harmon Field.

The goal today was 3 miles and I planned on running it race pace – which for me is around a 10 min mile. I secretly wanted to run it in under 30 minutes (well, not so secretly, this has been my goal for quite some time). I set out at a fast pace but it felt so awkward. I just could not find a rhythm.  I slowed my pace again and then decided to do Fartlek’s. This is where you speed up for a set period of time or distance – like running faster to a light pole then slowing down. I did this multiple times and then tried to run my last mile at a consent speed. I did not, as usual, beat 30 minutes – 30:33.  I need a pacer!

I headed home for a snack and more reading. Then I decided to head to the adidas outlet. I really need so cool weather running clothes before it starts getting cold. As expected, there was nothing there. It is hard to get my hands on adidas stuff – my own company and I cannot find anything. There is nothing available in the catalog either. Oh well. I might be going back to REI.

After my disappointing trip to the outlet I decided to head to Toyota to get my car serviced. Believe it or not I have already put over 20,000 miles on my car. It is a year old this month!

Back home and hanging out with John. He recorded some more motorcycle videos – now that he has his helmet cam I can see all of his crazy riding. It is fun to see but it makes me serious nauseous to watch. I get kind of dizzy watching the video.

For dinner I made one of my favorite dinner staples – Rachel Ray’s Spanakopita Burgers. I forgot to take pictures because I was STARVING. I made two huge burgers for us and served them on pita bread. It was so yummy.

Now it is time to sit down and watch Biggest Loser! I hope Jillian goes off on someone!

Leave a Reply

