Recovery day

On the plan today was a cross training day for active recovery. It is not completely a rest day – just some light exercise. I got my heart rate up on the elliptical at lunch. Hal Higdon says not to push it too hard on these days so I didn’t. I have to admit that I am a bit sore from this weekend.  I did not stretch as much as I should have and I can tell. I really need to be consistent this week.

This weekend one my long run I listened to an audio book. I bought It’s Not About the Bike by Lance Armstrong. I listened to it the whole time I ran and could barely wait to get in the car this morning to listen to it on my way to work. I forgot how much I enjoyed listening to books. This was is really good so far – besides being about Lance, he is telling his story about cancer. I knew he had cancer and survived but I really had no idea what he went through. It is a very inspiring read.

Tomorrow it is back to running. The plan for the week:

Monday: Elliptical
Tuesday: 3 miles
Wednesday: 5 miles
Thursday: 3 miles
Friday: rest
Saturday: 5 miles
Sunday: 9 miles! yikes!

Now I am going to lounge by the fire a bit before going to bed. Good night!

Leave a Reply

