Rest Day Eve

I just dawned on me that most of my Thursday posts dwell on the wonderful fact that tomorrow is rest day. I am sorry for that but I cannot describe what a nice feeling it is to have one day off from exercise. By Thursday nights my body is tired.

My running is going well this week. Apparently this is the “step back” week in training where my mileage takes a slight dip – only 22 miles. After tomorrow I get to run 6 on Saturday at race pace and another 6 on Sunday at a slow pace. According to Hal Higdon this is a break.

I just Googled Hal Higdon (my newest coach even though he doesn’t know it) to find some quotes to inspire me to run faster and stronger. As I am looking down the training plan I have a couple of hard weeks coming up. I love quotes and sometimes when I run I replay them in my head to keep going.

Well, the first quote I came across was not exactly inspirational, but it did make me laugh…

“The difference between the mile and the marathon is the difference between burning your fingers with a match and being slowly roasted over hot coals.”

Lovely!

I have a lot to look forward to!

Today I only had to run 3 miles, which, since it was beautiful outside today, I ran my work loop. I started off at a good 10:30 pace but once again couldn’t get my breathing right. I had this problem last night, too. I really had to focus on taking deep breaths. My legs felt ok, it just seemed harder than it should. When I got home and downloaded my workout from the Garmin I saw that my heart rate was higher than normal. On these runs my max heart rate is usually 149-153, Today it was 165 – and it was there quite awhile. My heart was working way too hard today.

I read that elevated heart rate is a sign of over training. I do not feel like I am, but I have added extra workouts this week. I am doing JIllian’s 30 Day Shred in addition to the running. Maybe it is too much? Not sure. I am going to take my resting heart rate in the morning to see if it is elevated, too. That is really the true indicator. Maybe I just need my rest day!

Today I burned 475 calories running and another 275 with the Shred and some extra abs and stretches. I am getting my arm strength back – I was so strong after P90X, but after not doing weights in awhile it is amazing how quickly that strength fades.

Tonight I am going to bed early to get the rest day started.

5 Comments

  1. Ted

    Yes, I would think over training is a probable causing your elevated heart rate. I can’t imagine trying to keep up with you on a daily basis. I’d be dead a long time ago. It will be interesting to see what your resting heart rate was this morning.

  2. Ilka

    Do you need to be taken off the hook? Since your doing all this other training maybe you shouldn’t do the 30 Day Shred? We’ll understand and still be extremely proud of you:)

  3. lauraph2009

    Never!!!!! I will complete any challenge. I am in for 30 days!

  4. lauraph2009

    Well, I forgot to take my heart rate this morning. Hopefully I will remember tomorrow (before my 6 miles run:)). I guess you forgot how slowly I run!

  5. weightosuccess

    You’re funny. I knew you’d say that:)

Leave a Reply

