Running in the Rain…AGAIN!

Yes, once again it is raining. But, that never stopped me before so I got home, changed and hit the track. At 5:00 it was nearly dark already between the time change and the clouds. When I left the house John told me he wanted to see some 9:30 miles… normally I do not listen to him (well, I do quite often) so I took it as a challenge. The fact that it was POURING didn’t hurt either.

I left the music in the car and RAN. No worries about puddles or mud or horse poop… I pounded through it all. The fact that I was the only one running in the rain I just let go – I was breathing like a freight train and it wasn’t pretty at all. I didn’t care.

At mile two I had to slow a bit just to tighten my pants up. I wore my XL adidas capris that just continued to get bigger and baggier as they got wetter. I wish I had worn shorts. By the end of the run they felt like they were 10 pounds!

So, after 28:09 minutes I was soaking wet but SO happy. I bet another personal record and ran the 3 miles faster than i have ever before. My average pace 9:14!

IMG_0339

 

Running is a big question mark that’s there each and every day. It asks you, ‘Are you going to be a wimp or are you going to be strong today?'”
– Peter Maher, Canadian marathon runner

4 Comments

  1. Ted

    Way to go, Laura. That’s is amazing. I guess you were up for a challenge.

  2. Awesome!!! Keep it up girl 🙂 You are a rock star!!

  3. Linda

    Great run – we’re proud of you.

  4. fab44

    ROCK STAR is all I can say. You go Girl!!

Leave a Reply

