Cake and Shiatsu

What a wonderful Friday! Even though I worked it ALMOST felt like a day off!  There were no problems at work and everyone seemed to be in a good mood. I actually spurged a bit today and had a piece of birthday cake. I wouldn’t have if it wasn’t homemade, but I heard the girl that made it baked delicious cakes. She has been baking them all year for various events and I have not had a single bite, until today. Boy was it worth it. It was one of the best pieces of cake I have ever had. I enjoyed it thoroughly!

After cake I did a bit of work before my lunch time massage. Yes, I am so bad that I managed to sneak out at lunch for an hour massage.  I told Bonnie that my legs have been very tired and heavy the past couple of days so she decided to give me a shiatsu massage. She has never done this before and it was very different. Normally she really stretches me out and does deep tissues massage.

What is it? “The shiatsu therapist applies pressure using his or her fingers, thumbs, and/or palms in a continuous rhythmic sequence.”

The supposed benefits of shiatsu massage are:

  • Deep muscle and tissue relaxation
  • Stress reduction and management
  • Releases toxins from the body
  • Dis-ease preventative
  • Increased flexibility
  • Improved blood circulations
  • Reduces blood pressure
  • Reduces mental anxieties
  • Balances ki (chi)
  • Calms nervousness
  • Increases mental and spiritual awareness
  • It feels good!

It does feel good, but I prefer my normal massage. I do have to say this one had me very relaxed!

I am going to finish resting now. I have a big running weekend ahead!

Leave a Reply

