Surprisingly pain-free Monday

I woke up this morning a bit stiff and most of the morning every time I got up from my desk I was a bit slow. However, I was not nearly as sore as I thought I would be. It got even better after I did my lunch time workout. Since today is cross training I did 15 minutes on the elliptical and 15 on the stationary bike. I really worked up a sweat. Usually on Monday’s I cross train, but mostly with weights and light cardio. I did a bit more of an intense workout (although NOT like spinning class!) and it really seemed to get my legs going again. For the rest of the afternoon I was really almost back to normal. There was no pain or stiffness at all.

In my training plan Hal Higdon does stress this workout day as being important to flush out the lactic acid in the legs. Obviously he knows what he is doing. I guess I know what I will be doing on Mondays from now on.

Tonight I did core workout and the foam roller. For core I just did a variety of standard ab moves and some plank positions. I got a pretty good workout. I really need to do this a few times a week. I read that hip problems are primarily the result of having a weak core. Your abs are supposed to hold up the rest of the body – if they can’t then more stress goes on other parts. It is just so hard to get it in with all the running and stretching. Sometimes I just get tired of exercising!

The foam roller exercises were excellent. I pulled up some videos on You Tube – there is really a lot of good things on that site. I found a trainer demonstrating a lot of moves and really explaining how to “roll”. I have been using the foam roller, but I have been haphazardly rolling my legs across it. He really demonstrated the moves and showed more intention and focus on the muscles. After that and some of my standard stretches I felt really loose and relaxed.

For running this week it is a “step back” week – I get to do a lower mileage week! Yippee!

Monday: Cross train
Tuesday: 3 miles
Wednesday: 5 miles
Thursday: 3 miles
Saturday: 6 miles
Sunday: 9 miles
Total: 26

Now I am off to bed!! I must get my rest.

2 Comments

  1. Linda

    Hopefully your body is getting used to all that running. I need to work more on the core too.

  2. lauraph2009

    You would think my body would be getting used to it! I don’t know. Something new is sore everyday!

Leave a Reply

