Today is my Friday!

Yes, I have off for the next couple of days and I couldn’t be happier. The problem is that I had to work much harder today than I would on a normal Friday! But, it was fine since I had a ton of energy.

I started the morning off at my usual time but since I didn’t have to go in until 10:00 I went to the park for my 5 mile run. This is the first time in a while I actually got to do my Wednesday run ON Wednesday. I was ready to run, but not ready to go outside. Once again it was rainy and cold. It wasn’t really dark by the time I got there at 7:15, but it was just dreary and gloomy. I cranked up my tunes and started my run.

My training plan called today my “mid-week sorta long run”. Funny – not very technical sounding. It also told me to “run at a comfortable pace”. I like those kinds of instructions! I like being comfortable. Apparently I was comfortable at a 10:50 pace….. pretty slow, but indeed it was comfortable. I really didn’t feel like pushing it so that was fine. Hal Higdon says in all his books to listen to him. So, being the obedient person I am, I do. When he says to run race pace, I do that too. He assures me that he has trained 1,000’s of people and he knows what he is doing. I believe him.

Tomorrow is my annual physical and mammogram day – what an exciting way to spend my first day off!! After that I get my hair done and then who knows. Good times. Somewhere in between all this fun I have to fit in 3 miles. I just hope it is nice outside.

Right now I am exhausted so I am going to bed.

 

Leave a Reply

