Start tapering

This is the final countdown for my half marathon on Saturday December 12th. According to the full marathon training plan that I am following I should have done a 15 mile run today. Instead I have to start decreasing my mileage to begin my taper for the half. The taper week is a sort of active rest before the big day. Mileage is decreased, but intensity is not.

Today for the 12 miler I got to join Scarlette for her run which turned out to be perfect. The mileage decreased but the workout called for some of the miles being at race pace, which I do not usually do on my long runs. We ran 4 slower than race pace, 4 at race pace and 4 “cool down” miles. I think we all laughed at these so-called cool down miles – they were the hardest of the night. Aside from just being tired it was starting to get dark and COLD. By the time we finished it was 37 degrees. Total running time was 2:09.

This 12 miler was so much better than the one I did a few weeks ago. I am sure I am a bit more conditioned, but also the company was huge. I didn’t always run right next to the others, they ran a a little faster pace, but it was nice knowing they were there and we did get to chat for a few miles in the beginning.

For taper week there are a things that need to be done to make sure on race day I will be at my peak:

  • Reduce mileage
  • Maintain intensity
  • Avoid hills
  • Get all the race gear ready
  • Eat clean – higher percentage of carbs, but not necessarily calories
  • Hydrate
  • Avoid alcohol
  • Stretch and foam roller
  • Ice and rest

My plan for the week:

Monday: 15 min or so on elliptical and core work, stretching
Tuesday: 4 mile run
Wednesday: 30 min tempo run
Thursday: rest
Friday: rest
Saturday: RACE!

2 Comments

  1. weightosuccess

    Sounds like a plan 🙂 your my hero Laura May you can do it!!!

  2. Linda

    We’ll be there cheering you on. I’ll be off Friday whenever you want to come over. We’ll have to let Jeff know the times for Saturday and hopefully they can come also to cheer.

Leave a Reply

