Happy New Year!

I always love the start of a new year – so much opportunity lies ahead and so many surprises. Who knew this time last year that I would be training for a full marathon and have a dog in my life? This time last year I had not even started my blog yet, but I knew it would be a good year. I was already focused on my mission to get healthy and I am happy to say I am still going strong. My Healthy Challenge is still in full force.

Last year at this time I had a distinct plan – TO DO SOMETHING! I laid out my plans to run races and get fit. I vowed to run at least 6 5K’s – I did much better than that. I ended up running 7 races – 4-5K’s, 1-8K, 1 – 10K, and 1 half marathon.

1/10/09: Grasshopper 5K – time 36:30
2/14/09: Cupids Cup 5K – time 33:37
No race for March due to 10K training
4/4/09: Cooper River Bridge 10K – time 1:08 (PR)
7/11/09: Peach Festival 5K – time 30:22 (new PR)
9/26/09: Race for the Cure 5K – time 30:57
10/10/09: Ache Around the Lake 8K – time 53:05
12/12/09: Thunder Road Half Marathon – 2:16:08

I took some time off from running over the summer due to some hip issues and finished P90X. I got super fit and decided to start running again and start training for a full marathon, which is coming up in just over a month. I am still amazed when I think back to last January when I was sitting here contemplating over whether or not I could do a 10K (6.2 miles) – fast forward a year and I am sitting in the same couch thinking without a doubt that I can run 26.2 miles! I KNOW I can cover the distance, I truly doubted I could cover 6.2. What a difference a year makes.

Looking back there are some other goals I laid out that I have not achieved yet – I put on my list that I was going to take swimming lessons and I still have weight to lose. I didn’t hit the 100 pound mark like I planned – there are still 20 more pounds to go. I think I have put those 20 on hold until the marathon. I found that it is very difficult to go into a calorie deficit while training for a marathon. It really takes a lot of energy to log all those miles!

I need to spend some time over the next couple of days plotting out 2010. I had everything in order by this time last year. Now, with the marathon coming up I have to focus on it. I want to do my best and the next 6 weeks will be completely focused on getting as strong and as fit as possible. I think for now that is all I will focus on. I am going to get organized today and get a 6 week plan together for nutrition, core work and running.

Tomorrow is a huge run for me – 20 miles… I am excited about it, but dreading it a bit due to the cold weather. I would love to wake up tomorrow and find a nice 50 degree and sunny forecast for the day!  I am going to rest today, get plenty of fluids and get my gear together.  What a great way to start off the new year!!

2 Comments

  1. Ilka

    Happy New Year!!!

  2. weightosuccess

    Happy Birthday Laura Loo!!!!!

Leave a Reply

