Final stretch

Right now the count down clock on the Myrtle Beach Marathon site shows

29 days, 8 hours, 43 minutes, 56 seconds

I am less than a month away from the race I have been in training for the last 4 months. It’s starting to feel more real as the miles ramp up each week.  It will be like Christmas morning on Saturday February 12th!

I cannot lure myself away from reading running articles, books and blogs. I am truly obsessed with getting as much information as possible before the big day. I keep hoping that I am going to come across the one piece of information that will somehow make 26.2 less painful. Yes, it will be painful. 20 miles was and so was 16 so I have no doubt that 26.2 will be even more so. I suppose I shouldn’t think about it that way – I am trying to change my thinking. I am told  – and have read – that the thrill of the race makes all the difference.

In my quest to find inspiration I like to find quotes. For some reason little tidbits of sentences that other people said are inspiring.  The problem is that inspiring marathon quotes are hard to find! Here is a sampling:

“You’re running on guts. On fumes. Your muscles twitch. You throw up. You’re delirious. But you keep running because there’s no way out of this hell you’re in, because there’s no way you’re not crossing the finish line. It’s a misery that non-runners don’t understand.”
-Martine Costello

Running is real and relatively simple…but it ain’t easy.
–Mark Will-Weber

Marathon running is a terrible experience: monotonous, heavy, and exhausting.
Veikko Karvonen

Marathoning is like cutting yourself unexpectedly. You dip into the pain so gradually that the damage is done before you are aware of it. Unfortunately, when awareness comes, it is excruciating.
John Farrington

“It hurts up to a point and then it doesn’t get any worse.”
Ann Trason

So there it is… a bit of marathon inspiration! It really makes you want to get out there, doesn’t it?

On the positive side I got to talk to my sweet daughter today (and Mollie, but it is really a one-sided conversation). Katheryn was sweet enough to discuss my training with the physical therapist she works for. She mentioned my Morton’s Neuroma. The PT said the best thing is to take anti-inflammatory medicine. I have been doing that – I start dosing up about 2 days before my run. I really does help the pain. I hope it keeps working!

Tomorrow I get to leave work early to get my miles in. I hope there are no creepy people at the park tomorrow!!!

3 Comments

  1. Linda

    I don’t know about those quotes – a little depressing but I know you will work your way through. We’ll be there cheering you on, hopefully we can get in different areas.

  2. Linda

    Here are a couple quotes:

    John Hanc, running writer
    “I’ve learned that finishing a marathon isn’t just an athletic achievement. It’s a state of mind; a state of mind that says anything is possible.”

    Mike Fanelli, running club coach:
    “I tell our runners to divide the race into thirds. Run the first part with your head, the middle part with your personality, and the last part with your heart.”

  3. lauraph2009

    WOW – thanks for finding some inspiring quotes for me!

Leave a Reply

