I almost missed it!

As I was doing my track workout this morning it occurred to me that I started seriously running exactly this week one year ago. I found my first official training schedule on 1/20/09 and remember being very intimidated. I had my first speed training session and it was all new to me. It was such a hard workout. I thought my lungs were going to explode!

I remember having a really hard time adjusting my speed. I would go out fast and barely be able to make it around the track. I really do not even think I finished my first workout because the recovery laps were much slower than they should have been. And I am pretty sure it took me longer than the time specified.

My very first speed training workout looked like this:
10 min  walk warm-up
2×800 in 5:45  minutes with a 400 m walk recovery
4×200 in 1:15 minutes with a 100 m walk recovery
5 min walk cooldown

Today we did the workout I posted yesterday… 2 miles warm-up, 8×800’s and 2 miles cool down.  The 800’s were supposed to be in 4:20 or less. I did them in about 4:35. The plan was Scarlette’s plan and she is a bit faster than me. We also only had a 2 minute recovery in between each 800. I think this is the real magic… I was able to recover very well and ready to go before the 2 minutes was up. I really felt great and the 9 miles were over before I knew it.

Now that I am thinking about it I really think I should have pushed harder. I think I could have. I know my lungs were not bursting and I recovered quickly. BUT, I did what I needed to do. I followed the plan which called for my pace to to be “faster than race pace”. My ultimate race pace goal is a 10 minute per mile pace. I ran today at mostly a 9:30 pace. Hopefully that is good enough.

Tomorrow is rest day and a massage. I was very disappointed that Bonnie was booked solid and had to get someone else. Normally I would just have skipped it but my hamstring is really tight and I need to start focusing on it so I do not have trouble on race day.

Also, I am sorry to finally admit that I think I am getting sick. I woke up this morning with a bit of a sore throat and a dull headache. I have been feeling blah all day and now my throat is more sore. I have been drinking lots of fluids including my green drink and emergen-C. I hope it doesn’t get any worse!

1 Comment

  1. Fab442009

    I hope you feel better soon. I know you have running to do but with this bug you need to rest. Sorry you got sick.

Leave a Reply

