“Aren’t we the silly ones?”

I had a smile on my face for the next few minutes after I passed a man at the park walking while I was running in a total downpour. It was Sunday morning, 41 degrees and raining cats and dogs. We had passed each other a couple of times this morning already and we have seen each other plenty of times since I started this training months ago. He is a regular at the park – rain or shine he is there walking.  It is nice to see the friendly face of this older man on my runs. He is the perfect type of person to pass frequently – he might make one comment the whole time I am there and I do not feel compelled to say anything witty back or smile and say hi every time I pass. This morning it was the best when he said, “aren’t we the silly ones?”. I responded, “yes, we are!”.

I was not sure I was going to run today. The plan was 18 miles. I really didn’t want to miss it but the cold I have had this weekend, coupled with the miserable weather made me feel like I should stay in. I woke up this morning feeling great – the sore throat and headache I had all day yesterday were gone. My muscles felt great – due to the massage I got yesterday, I am sure. I had a lot of energy.

I decided to suit up and go to the park.

The goal was 18 miles, but as I got out into the cold and the rain I doubted I would make that mileage. I stopped briefly at mile 4 to change my gloves – the ones I had one were soaking wet and I had a spare pair in the car. Mile 6 came and I was cold. My feet were starting to get really wet. It was a steady downpour at this point. I decided I would be happy to get in 9 miles. At mile 8 my gloves were soaking wet again. I took them off to change again but my third pair was not in the car. I decided to run without them. My hands were so cold! At mile 9 I decided I was good for one more mile. At mile 10 I looked at my watch and I was approaching the 2 hour mark so I decided to run until I passed 2 hours.

At that point there were no more mind games to play. I could have kept going but my hands were stinging in pain and my feet were completely soaked. It was raining harder than ever so I called it a day.

I got home, took a hot shower and got under my quilt. I had a lovely lunch waiting for me… delicious homemade chicken noodle soup that I made last night (plus a grilled cheese sandwich).

After my soup I finished my first book of the year…. The Lacuna by Barbara Kingsolver. It was good, but a bit too involved for me right now. There were tons of characters, historical references and symbolism… most of which was lost on me. I just read it to finish so I could move on. Maybe one day I will go back to it and appreciate it more.

Now it is time to start winding down for the night. The fridge is stocked, I got a couple of meals cooked for the week and laundry is done. Good night!

1 Comment

  1. troy

    Just stumbled upon your blog 🙂
    I think it’s great to see what people need to do to accomplish what they do – fitness wise of course. I’ve been a hobby runner for a while but have never ventured into the ‘race’ thing.

    Thanks again for the perspective, and good luck on your training!

Leave a Reply

