6 mile run

I got off work early today to get my mid-week “longish” run in. Today was 6 miles. My plan had me doing 6 miles anyways, but Scarlette sent me what she was doing. Her workouts are always so much more fun! I would have plodded along for 6 miles, but instead I had these instructions:

3 x 2 miles:

Effort #1 – should be just a little harder than your warm-up.

Effort #2 – should be about the way you would run in a race or if someone were watching you!

Effort #3 – should be as if you were racing someone and you don’t want them to beat you. Yes – HARD!

My warm-up was nice and easy and I was feeling really great. I went out stronger than I should have for the 1st effort… I did the first 2 miles in about 9:30-9:45 pace. For my second lap I started out a bit slower…. after the brief walk and some stretching I had a hard time getting up to speed again. I managed to keep it between 10:00 and 10:30 most of the time.

I did manage to run like someone was watching me! It is funny how differently you can run when you start thinking like this. My posture was better, I held in my stomach a bit more and I sped up a bit – then a squirrel jumped out at me from behind a tree and I lost all my concentration!

After the squirrel episode I regained my composure and finished that lap ok. My mile 4 my left hip and hamstring started hurting. The outside muscle of my left hip has been hurting all week since speed training. I have tried stretching, trigger point and foam roller… heat, ice and BioFreeze.  I am going to keep up this regime and hope for it to heel . I do not have a massage scheduled for another week so I will just have to manage.

By the third set I was feeling a bit slower and for some reason got to a point where I could barely move my legs I walked for a minute or two and decided to run through the fatigue. I thought of the last two miles of the marathon. Stopping will NOT be an option. I wanted to finish strong. I ended up running the last quarter mile at a 9:56 pace.

Overall it took me 1:02 to run 6 miles with a couple of walking breaks. I was happy with that time.

There are 14 days before the marathon!!!

4 Comments

  1. Linda

    Good luck with your 15 miles this weekend with the snow. Hopefully Sunday you can run.

  2. Linda

    A runner’s quote:

    “The miracle isn’t that I finished. The miracle is that I had the courage to start.”

    -John Bingham, running speaker and writer

  3. fab44

    Your mother is so sweet. I really do like that quote. I hope you feel better.:) It’s been a rough week for us all.

  4. lauraph2009

    I love this quote! Thank you for finding me good, inspirational ones!

Leave a Reply

