A good two hours

I did my time… 2 hours on the treadmill. I can’t say it was my best work, but I am ok with that. I try not to dwell on these things anymore – I could certainly get stressed out that I didn’t get the prescribed 15 miles in, only 10, but what is the point of that? I am plugging along and doing what I can.

I came across a quote today that summed up my attitude. It is one I mentioned before, but something that I feel strongly about and the thing that has kept me on track above all else:

You must have long term goals to keep you from being frustrated by short term failure.” Charles C. Noble

I have long term goals – I am coming up on one in about 11 days – running the marathon. But longer than that is seeking new challenges and living a fit and healthy life. These are true long term goals that are not going to be derailed because I only ran 10 miles in two hours instead of 15.  The fact that I ran for two hours at all is huge and I am happy for it.

In 11 days I will be running 26.2 miles. This is amazing and I have the same feeling right now as a kid waiting for Christmas to come. I cannot wait for that weekend. I also cannot wait to see what comes after it. I have focused all of my time and energy in to this one race.  I am waiting for it to be over with before I start planning my next challenge. I have some ideas in mind, but I have to see what this race will bring.

It has has been a wonderful and relaxing weekend. I have been alone for most of it and have caught up on some reading and finding new quotes. I do not know what it is about collecting little sentences of things that other people have said, but I enjoy it. I have lots of little books full of quotes.

I am looking forward to a very busy week at work and a very nice week of running. I decrease my mileage once again.. the second week of the taper is going to be glorious!

4 Comments

  1. Linda

    I am anxious to see what you next goal is. Looking forward to a nice weekend with you at the Marathon. We haven’t gotten to see you much with the training.

  2. Katheryn

    I think you should look into a Triathlon 🙂 I love you mom & I’m so proud of you!!

  3. lauraph2009

    I know – I miss hanging out and relaxing with you guys. We are going to party like rockstars on Saturday night!!

  4. lauraph2009

    oohhh… I don’t know. I have to learn how to swim first!

Leave a Reply

