Snow, snow go away!

It certainly is pretty to look at and normally I would love the fact that I am trapped in my house. This time it is really putting a damper on my training. I missed last week’s 18 miler due to the pouring rain, I only got 10 miles in. That was ok because we still had this week’s 15 miler. Well…. it is all ice and snow out there and I am not equipped to run in these conditions. SO, that leaves me only one option – the TREADMILL.

I have been thinking about it and I have decided I have to do it. I have to suck it up and get on that thing. It will be fine. The reason I think it will be ok is for two reasons. First, it is because the workout is not “to run 15 miles” It is broken down as follows”

The miles should be at least 14-15.

Do this as:

45 min easy comfortable pace

1 hour at half marathon goal race pace

30 min. slightly faster than your goal marathon race pace

15 min. Easy effort CD

I think mentally I can break this down and make it happen.

Second, I am going to get a “video on demand”. I have not done this before but I think now is the time to try it out. I have been wanted to see Inglorious Bastards with Brad Pitt. It should hold my attention for a couple of hours.

The good points about being on the treadmill:

  • I get to watch a movie while I run
  • I do not have to carry water or gels
  • Dogs will not bother me
  • I will not have to dodge cars
  • I have a bathroom a few feet away
  • I do not have to wear my running shorts over my compression shorts
  • My hands will not be cold
  • I do not have to go anywhere

I am going to get ready for my run as usual  – have my water and my breakfast and get to it.

7 Comments

  1. Katheryn

    Hahahaha I love your “Good points about being on a treadmill” my favorite is “dogs will not bother me” 🙂 You will do great today! I love you and be careful in the snow! I will not be going anywhere because our parking lot is VERY slick.

  2. fab44

    I really enjoy the TV in the workout room. I watched a movie yesterday while walking on the Treadmill and it made it better.

  3. weightosuccess

    that a girl!!!! You always know how to bring out the positives!!!

  4. lauraph2009

    The movie I picked ended up having subtitles!!! Not a good thing to watch while trying to run. oh well!

  5. lauraph2009

    It is exhausting always trying to be positive! I just need to just be a HOT MESS like you! Do you know there is actually a definition for hot mess?
    When ones thoughts or appearance are in a state of disarray but they maintain an undeniable attractiveness or beauty.
    That’s funny!

  6. Linda

    I love the TV while I am on my bike it really helps. You also don’t have squirrels running out in front of you.

  7. lauraph2009

    HAHAHA! I forgot about the vicious squirrels!

Leave a Reply

