Last 10 miler

Today was a the last “long” run before the marathon. We were running an out-and-back so I was prepared to run 5 miles out, turn around and run 5 miles back. Then Scarlette said we have to run it a certain way…. all of her runs, like I have mentioned before, have a little twist in them. We were supposed to run a 3 mile warm-up, then 3 miles faster than race pace, then finish off the rest as a cool down. Normally these plans make me happy because I like to break the runs up. Today I just wasn’t feeling it. I wanted to run my nice, happy pace for 10 miles. I couldn’t get my legs to go faster. Even if I tried, my race pace is a bit slower then theirs anyways.

I told them to run on. I put my music on and got in the groove as best I could with all the hills. On the flat and down hill sections I was at a 9:50-10:00 min pace. Uphill was mostly 10:30, but I even dipped down to 11:00. The important part for me was to keep running consistently as possible.

Another goal for today was to take in more fuel… gels. I have not had the best of luck with them in the past. I either get stomach cramps while I am running or have “problems” the rest of the night. But, I thought I would give it one more shot. I bought Cliff Shots because they are organic and I thought I would do better with brown rice syrup over pure fructose and other additives. I did not.

I took one with a good bit of water about 15 minutes before we started. The next one was taken at 4 miles with about 8 oz. of water. I felt ok but worried about my next dose. It was due at mile 8. I took about half the packet and couldn’t stomach anymore. Just after that my stomach started churning. I was really nervous – I didn’t feel well at all and had 2 miles until I got back to the car. Luckily we were parked at a gas station with a restroom! I decided I better walk for awhile and think happy thoughts.

I just needed a few minutes and was able to start running again. I decided that the faster I ran the faster I would be safe!  I picked the pace back up to a 10:00 min pace and finished strong. It was nice to see Scarlette waiting for me, even though I didn’t expect her to…. I guess runners never leave a man behind! She had finished about 10 minutes before me and had her best run yet.

I got home, showered and relaxed a bit before my 1:00 massage. I have been looking forward to it all week. Bonnie said she would focus on relaxation rather that the sports massage I normally get. It was glorious!

I have to try to get a lot of sleep this week so I will be heading to bed early every night!

Leave a Reply

