Old School

For this morning’s workout I decided to go back to the 90’s and some Reebok Step. I pulled out a video (yes, an actual VIDEO tape) with instructor Gin Miller, Intense Moves. It is is high intensity 50 minute workout; 10 minute warm-up, 30 minute intervals, 10 minute cool down. This tape was my staple 10+ years ago when I was trying to get in to shape. I forgot how hard it was! My heart rate really go up there. It averaged 144 and maxed at 169.  At first I had the step at it’s highest level, but after a few intervals I could barely lift my legs up so I lowered it one level.

At the end I was dripping sweat and huffing and puffing. I was sure that I would have at least 700 calories – not so…. I only burned 540. Ugh….barely half way.

I spent the day at home cooking and reading. I got the next book in the series by Stieg Larsson, The Girl Who Played with Fire. It is so good… I really meant to do some cleaning today, but didn’t.

I had to eventually burn 460 calories. I contemplated doing Plyo X, but decided instead to walk on the treadmill at an incline. I burned those calories in 45 minutes.

I have to say that my upper back is tired today from Jillian’s Yoga Meltdown yesterday! I am ready to go lay down just to be flat!

1 Comment

  1. Linda

    Sounds like you are enjoying yourself more. Mixing up routines is good hopefully that will keep from boredom creeping in.

Leave a Reply

