Fell short today

I didn’t quite make my calorie count today – I fell short 260 calories. I just didn’t have the rest in me! I worked 11 hours today and I knew it would be rough, but I thought I could pull it off. I did 3 miles at lunch for 430 calories and my plan was to squeeze another short but intense workout in the late afternoon and then knock out the last couple hundred when I got home…. well… work was busier than expected.

Another bad thing – I forgot extra food! Normally when I work 8-7 (a couple of times a month) I am diligent about packing an extra snack. I had nothing. I had my morning snack at 10:00, at lunch about 12:20, afternoon snack at 3:30… and nothing else until I got home at 7:30. I was starving! I had to hurry up and eat so I could exercise.

The only hope at getting my last 570 calories was Plyo X.  I just couldn’t do it – I had a headache from being hungry and there was no way I could do it just after eating. It was already nearing 8:00 so I couldn’t wait for my food to settle. I did the best I could with the incline on the treadmill. My goal was 300 calories – I ended up getting 320.  Now I just have to add these calories to the rest of the days this week to make up for them.

It is a struggle getting back to counting calories. I forgot how much I think about food. I have to think about it when I plan out my meals for the day. I have to log it. I have to try to slowly eat it. Then I spend all the in between times thinking about how hungry I am.  The funny thing is that when I am not counting calories I am not as hungry. Can I possibly be eating THAT much more? YES, unfortunately I think I am. I am certainly a person that will have to count calories for the rest of her life. There is no getting around it. I learned from the marathon training that no matter how many miles you run, if you eat too many calories you will gain weight. So simple, yet so easy to forget.

Granted, I didn’t gain a ton of weight back, but when it is so hard to lose in the first place just a few pounds matter. I worked hard to lose those pounds so now to have to lose them again just annoys me.

Now I am just tired. My headache is still throbbing and it probably doesn’t help that I have been staring at a computer screen for at least 12 hours today! Good night

Leave a Reply

