Random weekend

I had a very random weekend. I had no real plans other than to exercise and to buy food. It was a beautiful weekend so I was torn about what to do. I really wanted to go to Whole Foods but I hate Greenville and didn’t want to waste a beautiful day down there.

Saturday started off with a trail run with Tryon Running Club. We did a trail located behind the hospital. The group started out at a very fast pace – much faster than I am used to running on trails. I was huffing and puffing right at the start as we went up and down hills. I had the leaders in site for the first mile…. by “in sight” I mean I could see the colors of their shirts through the woods ahead of me. It was just as well that they were so far away that way they couldn’t hear my heavy breathing. No doubt they would have thought I was dying. The trail did have so level areas where I was able to gain my breathe and pick up the pace. However, just when I would get going good I would trip. TWICE I actually fell, once someone noticed. Luckily neither fall was bad so I didn’t even get a scrape.  It was a good workout, but my legs were toast. I need to focus more on hills, that is for sure!

After the run I went to my local farmers market. I wasn’t quite sure what I would find as not much is in season. The only vegetables anyone had were some chard, onions and lettuce. However, there were lots of eggs, and a guy with goat’s milk product. I went home with a jar of feta – I haven’t tried it yet, I am saving it for lunch this week. There were also a couple of people their advertising their grass fed beef. One lady had coolers of beef to sell – I will start buying it next week. I forgot I wasn’t shopping at the store so I didn’t have a lot of cash. Farmers don’t take debit cards.

I had a snack and decided to head to Earth Fare instead of Whole Foods. It is about the same distance away, but Asheville is so much more peaceful that Greenville. When I got there I had to have some lunch before shopping. I had an awesome bowl of butternut squash soup and a salad. I got what I needed and headed home

I enjoyed the rest of the day lounging around the house.

On Sunday I had to head to Spartanburg. I HAD to go, but for a good reason… I was scheduled for a massage. I haven’t had one since the beginning of March and I was long over due. I decided I would get a Shiatsu massage. This type of massage is supposed to be relaxing and energizing. I have been in a terrible funk for a few weeks so I was hoping Bonnie could work some magic. I never really had a real Shiatsu massage – it is completely different than a normal massage. You stay fully clothed no oil is used. It is more pushing and pulling than rubbing.

When she started she said the first part is to check my “Chi”. Now, I really do not know what that means and not sure if I did if I would buy into it. BUT, I have to say, after about 10 minutes into this process she asked me if I have been taking any medications or anything. Well, today was my last day of my 10 day prescription of that horrible anti-biotic I had to take. I told her that I have been on it – she said my Chi is showing a sluggish liver. Go figure. She said that the liver is probably overloaded trying to cleanse my blood of the excess medicine. Again, who knows, but the fact that she was able to tell I had been taking something is pretty amazing.

It is also amazing how 90 minutes can fly when you are getting a massage!

Of course, when I got home I had to read up on a sluggish liver. I do have some of the symptoms; unrefreshed when I wake up in the morning, difficulty losing weight, headaches, intolerance to alcohol (I can’t drink more than a glass of wine lately and don’t really even want it), sensitive to smells and itchy skin. Granted, these could be reasons for anything or nothing.

I had a book once called the Liver Cleansing Diet, but of course, it seems to be the one book out of my hundreds of diet books that I somehow gave away. I do remember that you are supposed to drink water with lemon juice first thing in the morning. I also read lots of fresh fruits and veggies, nuts and seeds, good fats…. gee sounds, like my diet this past week. Good, at least I am on the right track.

So, I am going to stick to my diet, drink the lemon water and continue with my Core Performance workout plan. Maybe now that I am done with these antibiotics my body will stop feeling sluggish all the time!

1 Comment

  1. Linda

    Sounds like a rather interesting weekend. I had a liver cleansing book, I’ll have to see if I can find it. I just finished my Greek yogurt and mandarin oranges. I bought some delicious blackberries at Sam’s Club for $2.98 – a big container. Even dad ate them.

Leave a Reply

