A whole vegan day

Today I didn’t have one ounce animal product – it is my first completely vegan day – all the other days I at least had a bit of cheese. I didn’t miss it at all. I will not be giving up cheese, but I am finding it easier and easier not to eat meat. It is not really the meat that I like so much but the side dishes anyway… now I will just make the side dishes the main course.

I had my normal green monster drink for breakfast. For lunch, some leftovers from last night with about 2 cups of spinach. I brought a big bowl to work, put the spinach in it, then topped it with the pasta and bean soup. I microwaved it and the spinach got all cooked up. I topped it with some hot sauce. I was really yummy!

I was looking forward to dinner. The plan was a couscous dish, roasted sweet potatoes, broccoli and something new…tempeh. I thought if I am going to be vegetarian I need to start sampling some different proteins. Tempeh is fermented soybeans – it is very nutritious and a good source of soy. I cannot eat things like tofu and soy milk with my hypothyroidism, but this type of soy is ok. Lucky me…

This is not my picture -I did not buy that much, I just forgot to take a “before” picture of it. Doesn’t it look good?

I cut it up and coated it in BBQ sauce before cooking it up in a skillet. It looked really tasty!

The tempeh are the two little triangles near the top right of the plate. Two little pieces is 120 calories and 10 grams of protein. The couscous was 8 gram of protein. It is easy to get protein from plant sources.

Easy, that is, as long as it tastes good…

I had to admit that I will not be buying tempeh again. Well, I won’t say never, but it is not that great. I guess it is what you would except a fermented soy bean loaf to taste like. Actually, it really wasn’t the taste, it was just weird and no amount of BBQ could make it better. John did better than me – he ate four pieces! I only at one – I did not want to waste anymore calories on it than I had to!

I had two good workouts today, too…. the elliptical at lunch and my Core Performance routine at night. I also added some Pilates for the fun of it.

That is about it for tonight!

1 Comment

  1. Linda

    The tempeh looks good on your plate. The pasta dish really looked good – I could eat pasta all the time. I don’t care about other carbs but I do love pasta. The whole wheat and multigrain pastas have been good.

Leave a Reply

