Fantastic!

What a great weekend! I had the pleasure of spending the entire weekend with my daughter. I had her all to myself! We had a great time just relaxing and being together. We didn’t run around shopping or going anywhere, we just stayed home and chilled.

I did still have my running club Saturday morning. Our Tryon Running Club met Saturday morning for some hill work. WOW. I knew we were going uphill for a mile and I was ready, but about 3/4 of the way up I was wondering when we would get to the top. It was a really great run. It was tough coming down, too! My quads are so sore today it is crazy! We ended up running 4.6 miles. I am going to have to start carrying water with me – even at 8:30 in the morning it was warm and I could have used a drink.

Speaking of drinks…

After a lovely day of running, walking and playing with Mollie we had an afternoon cocktail – Cosmopolitans.  We sat on the porch and sipped our drinks. It was the perfect rest before the really hard work began…. cooking dinner.

Katheryn requested one of her favorite dishes – Chicken Marsala with garlic mashed potatoes. It is not a difficult dish to make, but there are some challenging ingredients. We found some free range chicken but not bacon. Since bacon is a key ingredient I had to do the best I could. I found some expensive bacon at Bi-Lo that is made by a private company. They could still be using feedlot pigs but I thought there was a chance that their pigs were better than Oscar Mayer or Smithfield.

Why is this hard? Because I love bacon, but not a bite passed my lips…

She loved her meal and that is all that counts. Don’t get me wrong, I had a good meal, too, just meatless. We had garlic mashed potatoes that I ate with some spinach. We also had some sour dough bread that I smeared with goat cheese, roasted garlic and roasted red pepper… I should have gotten a picture of that because it was delicious.

We woke up Sunday and after some lounging (as usual) we went for a walk with Mollie before Katheryn had to leave. It was a wonderfully peaceful morning and I hated to see her go (as usual, again).

I spent the rest of the day cleaning, shopping for food, and cooking for the week. For tonight’s dinner I made black-eyed pea cakes, collard greens and grits casserole. It was really good. My tactic this week is to make some meatless meals adapted from my normal cookbooks, not vegan cookbooks. I served the black-eyed pea cakes with some chow chow and I thought they were good.

After dinner I headed downstairs for my workout. I started stage 1C of Core Performance plus other exercises. I got my new Runner’s World magazine and there is an article about gauging your fitness. There are several moves listed and the number you should be able to perform by gender and age to determine how fit you are. I think Scarlette and I are going to do a little mini fitness challenge with these things. I gave a few of them a try tonight and sadly I am not very good at them. I have my work cut out for me!

1 Comment

  1. Linda

    Everything looked so good – I wish I could have indulged with you and Katheryn.

Leave a Reply

