Hungry

I had a great morning workout with the running club at the track this morning. I didn’t have to be at work until 10:00 so it was the perfect day to meet up and run before work. I loved being out in the cooler temps in the morning and the track is so much less crowded than at night. I got there a bit earlier then the rest of the group and did about a half mile walking warm-up and stretching. I know I do not warm-up enough before my runs so I thought I would see if that helped. I think it did.

When everyone got there we did a mile run and then started in on our 400’s. The plan for 400’s is to finish the last lap faster than your first. I did!

Lap 1: 2:02
Lap 2: 2:01
Lap 3: 1:59
Lap 4: 1:58

The last lap I pushed really hard but I had a bit of help…  we had a new person today who was FAST; a 19 year old male track star:). He was really booking around the track so the last lap I started with him and told myself I was going to try to keep up. HAHAHAHAHAHA!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! He ran so fast – it was as if I was standing still. However, I kept my eyes on him and really pushed it and finished with my best time. For the last few yards I had sweat dripping from my brow and I was breathing like a mad woman. We cooled down and got on with the day.

I got to work and felt productive, until I started getting hungry and realized I did not bring enough food. I do not know what I was thinking when I packed my lunch, but I did a bad job. Not nearly enough food for a normal day, much less enough food to get me through 7:00pm.  About 5:00 I was so hungry and started getting a headache. I had nothing left to eat and it would be 7:30 before I got home. Obviously I survived, I have enough reserves, but that doesn’t take the hunger away! It was a long 2.5 hours! To top it off there was cake floating around the office, but not a bite passed my lips. It was all I could do not to have a piece.

I got home and wolfed down a turkey sandwich, some pita chips and a huge cucumber (from our garden). The headache never went away and I ended up going to bed early.

2 Comments

  1. Linda

    A cucumber already!

    I know when co-workers bring treats in it is very hard, but very little do I partake – some days are harder than others.

    Nice job on the run!

  2. lauraph2009

    We have so many cucumbers already! John said he is going to have to find a pickle recipe. I will hopefully be able to bring you some veggies next weekend. Yesterday he got more cucumbers, zucchini and green beans.

    Today someone brought boxes and boxes of Krispy Kremem donuts! I think they are out to get me this week!

Leave a Reply

