Something new!

I have been in a mood lately to try new things. Nothing too radical, but out of the ordinary. I am a creature of habit; I like to have a plan, a schedule, I like to know where I am going and what I am getting when I make something. I have decided to start this process by trying new recipes. I am a cookbook junkie but I rarely use them.  I have a couple go-to cookbooks, but even in those I tend to make the same things over and over.

Last week I tried a almost-curry dish. It was good so this week I am taking it a step further and making something with more curry in it. Yesterday was the fish tacos. Tonight was….. buffalo burgers! I never had buffalo meat before but I looked in Emeril’s cookbook – one of my favorites, Emeril at the Grill. He has a recipe for Spiced Buffalo Burgers and they were fantastic.

I had to go all the way up to Asheville to buy buffalo meat…. it was $6.99 a pound but I just got enough for two 6 oz. burgers. The recipe called for a tablespoon of a spice mixture that I made with all my fancy chili powders that Mom has bought me over the years. I LOVE chili powders! There are so many different kinds; Ancho, Chipolte, plus different chili blends from Penzy’s – they all have so much flavor it is amazing.

The nutritional info for buffalo meat vs. other animal proteins (I found this off of a bison website:)

Per 100 grams (3.5 ounces):

The meat was flavorful and the spice in it was really good. I served it on a toasted bun with tomato, pickle, jack cheese and a little mayo (per the recipe), no mustard or ketchup needed. Mustard and ketchup would have masked the flavor.

In addition to food another new thing is running before work! Yes, I am going to go to the park, run with Tryon Running Club and get back to home and to work before 8:00am. I am not sure how this is going to go but I am going to try to be organized. I already have my clothes ready and my lunch box organized.  Hopefully it will all come together because really like to start doing this.

Now time to finally relax! It has been a busy but very fun weekend!

2 Comments

  1. Ted

    Looks yummy and the nutritional specs are amazing. I bet my horseradish mayo would work well on that burger.

  2. lauraph2009

    oh my… I forgot about the horseradish mayo! My mouth is watering! I wish buffalo meat was readily accessible – we could have them this weekend.

Leave a Reply

