Pain in the leg!

Last week during my track workout I pushed too hard. I didn’t think I pushed too hard until the next day, and the day after, and the day after… I really did a number on my quads. They were so sore I could barely lift up my legs. I had to use my arms to lift one leg over the other if I wanted to cross them. Even moving my foot from the gas pedal to the brake pedal while driving was a challenge. I continued doing the elliptical during lunch and some P90X at night. I thought it would go away.

After a relaxing weekend I was ready to get back in to action. I woke up this morning ready for the track workout with my running club. I showed up at 5:45AM with the workout in hand. After a warm-up the plan was; 2×800, 2×400, 2×200. I started slowly running and went about a half a mile thinking the pain would stop once it got worked out. It didn’t I walked a lap and ran one more very slowly. I really wanted to do the workout with everyone but I just couldn’t. Now it hurt even more.

It was a long day. It hurt to walk and I couldn’t get comfortable while sitting. Right now I am icing my quads and I will continue to ice and rest this week.

Leave a Reply

