Excellent workout day!

I felt great today… FINALLY! I went to the track this morning and although I didn’t do exactly the workout as written, I did run 3 miles and felt good. They were slow, but that is what I needed to do. I realize that if I am going to get back into running shape with minimal injuries I need to start slow. It is a terrible blow to my self-esteem to think that I have run 3 runs of 20 miles, and countless other times of 13+ and now it is hard to even do track work. It is amazing how the body loses what it gained, and vice versa. It is a all about consistency, something that I have yet to learn.

As usual I like to find words of wisdom in message boards. It is amazing what other regular people have done and can offer for help. I found a great quote that has been adapted from one of my other favorite quotes, both of which I need to focus on incorporating into my life.

The original quote by Michael Pollan, “Eat food, not too much, mostly plants”.

The quote adapted for running, “Run lots, mostly easy, sometimes fast”.

I LOVE both of these quotes and think I need to focus more on following them. I have to say that I have been eating mostly plants for awhile, but not “not too much”. I still eat too much! I hate feeling hungry, but I think I will eventually have to if this weight is going to come off. So far it is not. My big plans about losing 30 pounds this summer are fading quickly. But, since I am in this for the long haul I am not discouraged.

So, I am on a renewed mission. I have to run more, mostly easy…. right up my alley!!!!

Leave a Reply

