Unplanned rest day

Yesterday I had every intention of doing my speed training and my P90X Legs/Back. I skipped them both. My hips are hurting and I just felt like I needed a rest day from the legs. I iced and applied some Biofreeze.

It has always been the right hip that hurts so bad, but lately the left hip has been hurting, but in a different way. The muscles on the outside of my left hip and lower back are feeling strained – probably they are overcompensating for the weakness on my right side. I have also noticed a change in my running gait – my left heel seems to kick the inside of my right ankle. Clearly something is not right.

The goal today is to figure out what I need to do about it. I do not know what kind of doctor to go see for this. My family physician will not have a clue so I really do not want to waste my time. I am sure physical therapy is in my future because I do not know how to fix this. I have the half marathon coming up at the end of October so I have to get better!

Today I am going to get some upper body work in and ab work. I might skip the running again, but I will see how I feel after work. Maybe I will just walk. Maybe I will run/walk. I will see.

2 Comments

  1. When I started having hip issues that were affecting my day-to-day life and my running, I went to see an orthopedic surgeon. I chose the one I saw because he is also in sports medicine and I knew that he would understand the athlete mindset as well as look at getting me back in the game for my chosen sport. Sorry to hear that you are having trouble with your hips. I definitely can understand and empathize with you. When your hips are having troubles, it affects you in so many different ways!! Hope you are able to find someone to see and get some answers and relief!

    Melissa

  2. lauraph2009

    Thanks for the advice! I found an orthopedic doctor in my area who is supposed to be good. Hopefully I can get an appointment. Icing right now…

Leave a Reply

