Crossfit to be FIT

Before I started all this running and got lost in the goals of trying to complete races I just wanted to be FIT. I want to be able to do whatever I want, whenever I want. I was pretty much there after P90x last year – I felt great and I was strong. Then I started running…. just running. I am hear to tell you that running only did not do much to improve my overall fitness. It didn’t really even make me a good runner. I like running, but have come to realize that it is not the path to being fit. Neither is only doing P90X. As much as that program did for me I got so bored and tired of it.

Somehow I came across a very cool program – Crossfit. It is exactly what I was looking for – lots of hard work mixed with fun and variety.  I have been reading a ton about it. Ideally would go to a Crossfit gym, but I am not ready for that. This stuff is hardcore and I am not ready to make a public appearance. Luckily the nature of the workouts adapt perfectly for working out at home. I already have a good bit of equipment and can do hundreds of workouts.

I have now done three days of workouts and my body hurts. I can’t wait to do more – I just have to put some thought into what is next. There is a method to the madness and luckily there is a lot of information on the web. According to the plan today is rest day. That means tons of stretching for me!

Leave a Reply

