It’s all about mobility!

I had a bit of an epiphany yesterday while watching a video on one of my new favorite blogs – MobilityWod . This blog is all about increasing mobility – it’s all about movement. I have always said I hated stretching… it takes too long and it is boring. Who wants to stretch when I could actually be doing something? Well, duh….  if I am able to improvement my movements and increase the mobility my body has then I can do more.  I love this guy’s statement on the blog:

Every human being should be able to perform basic maintenance on themselves. You know what to eat, how to train, and what to do if you have a cut; you should also know how to fix your tight hips, painful knees, and stiff shoulders, and how to make yourself faster and more powerful. It’s too much to mobilize everything, all the time, everyday. Start somewhere. The Mobility Wod should take you four to 10 minutes to complete. Do it everyday. Remember the areas that feel like a Shaman’s Blow.

Basic maintenance on my body. I never really thought of it that way. I also never thought to break it down everyday into parts. I have been doing a new mobility exercise daily, in addition to the exercises my therapist told me to do. It works out perfectly and I am already feeling a difference. The key, as always, is consistency…. I need to KEEP doing it daily.

I am loving this new way of working out. Doing the Crossfit and mobility WODs daily is a great way to exercise. There is absolutely no dread factor. So, off to do today’s workout!

Mobility: Internal Shoulder Rotation
Crossfit: GWM (gymnastics/weights/metabolic) so I will do air squats, chest press and sprints

Then, off to see my lovely daughter!

1 Comment

  1. Linda

    I think if I stretched more I would feel better. I wouldn’t mind getting something that Dylan can follow with me.

Leave a Reply

