The real deal!

I finally made the leap. I was brave and went to my first class at a Crossfit gym! It was great – just like I pictured it would be and better. Why better, well, I pictured it full of young, hot, fit 20’s somethings just killing the workouts while I floundered in the corner…. it was nothing like that. Sure, there were some cute young guys there and some girls, but they were all very nice and the class I was in had two woman older than me. They started in April this year and were very nice and helpful. Everyone was so encouraging – it was great.

It all started this morning when I heard that I girl I work with goes to Crossfit. I have worked with her for a few years – she is young and pretty and has always had a nice shape, but lately I noticed she has been looking really slim and fit. She has been doing Crossfit for the past year and was excited to tell me about her PR’s and accomplishments. I was so excited to FINALLY talk to someone who is as excited about this as I am…. maybe even more so. She invited me to go with her to workout tonight and I couldn’t pass it up.

Driving up to the gym I was nervous. The last class was finishing up so I looked around and talked to the coaches. Soon I was up.

The workout of the day:
Push-ups 20-19-18-17-16-15-14-13-12-11-10-9-8-7-6-5-4-3-2-1
Sit-ups 1-2-3-4-5-6-7-8-9-10-11-12-13-14-15-16-17-18-19-20
So, you alternate between the two… the first set is 20 push-ups followed by 1 sit-up and so on.

The coach advised me to “scale”. I was to do half… start at 10 and work down/up.

Since I don’t do manby-pamby workouts I turned my nose up to the “scaling” and went for it. First we did a brief workout on the C2 rower (AWESOME, by the way), and some shoulder mobility. Well, truth be told, I did have to scale a bit – I did the push-ups on my knees and did the sit-ups on the ab mat instead of the GHD (Glute Ham Developer)

Man, I knocked out the first few sets pretty handedly. I have to say I was ON FIRE! By the time I got to the round with 17 push-ups I started getting concerned. WOW, I still had quite a ways to go and I was getting tired. At this point I was going full speed. It was then I realized I could pause and take some breathers (I didn’t realized, the coach told me it was ok). The workout is for TIME and I didn’t want to the the last one done. At this point the sit-ups were coming pretty easily since I have been practicing their method.

By the time I got to the round with 15 push-ups I was doing them in sets of three… three push-ups, then a breather, three more, then take a stretch, three more, another breather…. not even half way done yet. WOW – maybe I should have scaled. NO WAY.

At this point we have an audience. People are cheering and encouraging us to keep pushing. A few more sets and I hear “time!”… one of the woman finished… a bit after that I heard “time!” again… the other lady finished. It was just me left and I had 5 more sets to go. People were talking and doing other things, but I on the mat alone finishing up. Oddly, I didn’t feel awkward. I just kept pushing along. A couple of other people came in… one guy shouted “you’ve done more in this workout then some people have done all day”. Another guy “the only option is to finish – you are almost there”. Someone else “finish strong”. The last set the coach was over by me counting them out. TIME! I finally made it 41:30

My name went up on the board. I was NOT the slowest of the day.

Let me tell you!!!!!!!!!!!!! My arms were SO TIRED. There were some points where I started to do the push-up only to collapse on the floor. The sit-ups were coming easy until I got to 17. Then rounds 18, 19 and 20 were TOUGH. I even believe I grunted. I was dripping in sweat. It was great.

At this point all I wanted was water. I forgot my water. ugh.

I chatted with the others for awhile and headed home. Driving was tough as I could barely hold my arms up to get to the steering wheel. It was crazy.

I would love to keep going back, but it is so expensive. I will try to get in there maybe once a week or so. I also want to sign up with a trainer to work on my skills.

7 Comments

  1. Yay!!! You go girl.. I’m so sorry I wasn’t able to join you tonight but you best believe I will be with you next week. Although I must admit after reading your blog you got me kinda scared lol.. I knew you could do it Woo-Hoo!!

  2. Ted Phelps

    You never cease to amaze me, hon. I’m so proud of you.

  3. Linda

    Wow, great going! I am also proud of you.

  4. Alexandra

    Laura,
    I am soooooo proud of you!! You rocked it like a rock star last night! The first time is always the hardest and let me tell you it never gets easy! Its hard because its supposed to be. But when you push yourself to the limit and realize what you have accomplished, its the most gratifying feeling in the world~ Keep it up girl!~

  5. Ilka

    Hey by the way.. you made the front page on their website doing a push up lol..

  6. lauraph2009

    Thanks Alex! You are so awesome – a huge inspiration! Thanks so much for inviting me – I will be back!

  7. lauraph2009

    HA! Yes, I saw that… not the most flattering picture! I was remember a flash going off somewhere in the middle of that workout. I was probably dying at that point!

Leave a Reply

